We booked this hotel for an overnight stay as we were going to see The Killers at the SECC and it looked ideal. The location was spot on but thats where the compliments end. The new concert venue is being built right next door so our first thoughts on approach was well no long lie for us ..... no sorry .... our first thoughts were you have got to be kidding me when we laid eyes on the hotel. We had 2 rooms booked, one double (£85) and one triple (£95), but didnt realise the price didnt include breakfast. This was another £9 on top. Im now thinking, this has to be some special room. hmmmmm mayb not. We entered the double room first and had to laugh. All 5 of us struggled to get in at the same time. It was tiny so was the bed and reminded me of a hostel. My next comment of , surely the triple room has to be larger than this, was a mistake. It had the same tiny double bed which was brick hard but somehow they had also squeezed in a pull down couch which was sloping down at the head end and also sloped in to a corner. If i had lay on that i would have been stuck in the corner with my feet in the air all night. Perhaps that had happened to others as that may explain the big gauges out the wall where people have clawed their way out. We then made the mistake of looking in the bathroom. Disgusting. Mould all around the shower, cracked and chipped tiles etc etc. After a quick phone call to reception we were then shown 2 other rooms ...... flaking ceiling where it had leaked and collapsed, cracked shower trays, more mould and poorly decorated rooms and still not any bigger !!!! We then announced we werent staying. I wouldnt let my dog stay there. When asked what they thought of the condition of the rooms we were told by the manager that they r what they r and shrugged his shoulders. They then announced that because we had booked through a third party, we would have to contact them and would have to pay a cancellation fee. Good on booking.com once we described the state of the rooms we didnt have to pay a penny and were able to secure 2 more superior rooms at The Menzies for cheaper and had a fantastic stay. The moral of this tale is ...... stay away from this hotel at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thanks for taking the time to review your brief encounter with us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't want to stay with us in the end. It is a pity that you had made your mind up before you entered the hotel that you did not want to stay with us from an aesthetic point of view in the first instance. It is fair to say that our rooms are neat and compact, and that some of the rooms are in the process of being refurbished. We recently encountered a major flood due to a valve rupture that affected a number of rooms and rendered them out of service, and I believe that you were shown these by mistake as these rooms were out of order due to the water damage and were awaiting the necessary works. Apologies in the first place for the inconvenience for showing you these.
Despite the aggressive manner, threats and profane language in which you addressed our team on the day, they remained polite, offered a selection of alternative rooms, but ultimately recognised that you would not be happy staying, and offered to arrange alternative accommodation nearby, of which your response would not be allowed to be printed on this platform and duly declined.
We should like to thank you once again for your feedback, as we do treat all comments, good and otherwise with the utmost importance and investigate every comment made with a view of giving a balanced response, addressing the areas raised.
Deputy General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.