We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand let down - stay next door” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Leicester
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Brand let down - stay next door”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

What a let down this is for a Holiday Inn. Rooms small and in need of updating. Smaller than many Holiday Inn Express hotels. Comments by managment that this is full service hotel and therefore why it is more expensive is absolute drivel. The bar and the restaurant should pay for themselves - espacially at their prices.
I normally wait a while to post any comments on line. But I stayed here last week and find myself here again. I will be visting Glasgow for the next two years and want to find something better than this. Last Thursday - ignored by bar staff. Restaurant shares bar, but bar staff won't provide you with a menu - got a menu myself, ignored by restuarant staff - made the decision for me. Not too difficult to leave the rank house red on the bar and find somewhere else.
Given a smaller room tonight. For some reason the sofa bed was made up. On checking the bathroom it stank of stale urine. Time for a room change - but that cost extra to get a larger room.
Tonight different staff, same answer to menu question, but delivered more politely. Tried restaurant. Several different staff all rushing around, can't see why when there were less than 10 tables occupied. Lost track of the different faces appearing at my table - not exactly personel service. Second glass of wine so slow in arriving I had finished my meal so sent it back (And I was not the only one to suffer that). Final insult - service charge added to the bill! Food was good though.
I have stayed in a lot of IHC group hotels and this is certainly among the worst for delivering service in its bar and restaurant. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful but need to careful in fobbing people off with some of the things they say.
Can't really see why you would stay here when you can stay next door for less money in better rooms. Oh so they don't have baths - big deal. Staying next door has to be more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your recent visits to the hotel.

There has recently been a high turnover of staff within the food and beverage departments and this has, regrettably, caused some inconsistencies with the levels of service in this area. Whilst I understand that this will be of little consolation to you, I am confident that these inconsistencies have now been resolved and our normal high levels of service have been resumed.

There is always a manager on duty within the hotel, and should you choose to return to the hotel during your time in Glasgow, they would be more than happy to discuss your comments with you personally.

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    206
    103
    27
    16
See reviews for
53
187
53
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Where to begin, check in was very poor- was ignored for 3/4 minutes at check in and when finally checked in charged card rather than doing preauth without teling me meaning could not charge anything to room No directions given on how to get to room or explanation that you have to put krycard in lift to operate it, not told timings for breakfast and when got upstairs found r/s menu to discover very limited choice after 9:30pm. Room was spotless but small. Breakfast good but many problems when I couldnt charge to room and had to go upstairs to get cash as they couldnt take my card for some reason (it worked straight afterwards). I was very embarassed and if preauth had been taken this would not have happened.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the service you received from our front desk team and the subsequent problems that you encountered. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed to the Front Office Manager who will discuss your comments with the team to prevent any re occurrence.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

This hotel is ok but looking tired ,tv channels very poor picture,wifi the slowest you will find if you get a signal.I informed the reception staff of this and they said the hotel was
full.Maybe the should have checked with the provider if there was a fault.
Breakfast is better than Park Inn over the road and the resturant staff are very friendly.I stay at this hotel alot for buisness not by choice but would if they sorted out alot of the small problems that the Radission Glasgow has already done.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your kind comments regarding our breakfast offering and restaurant staff. It is always great to read positive comments regarding the team. I have taken your comments on board with regards to the poor wifi signal and will ensure that our reception team report such problems to the provider at the time in future. As a regular visitor to the hotel, we appreciate your constructive feedback.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINTYRE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

On arrival, I discovered that my booking for a Double Room was showing as a Twin on the Hotel Front Desk Computer as a Twin. I was told that the hotel was full and that the only double available was a suite which carried a supplement which I was not prepared to pay.

A quick check in the back office established that the mistake was made by the hotel as they had received the booking as a Double from the Booking Agency but had been wrongly transferred on to their inhouse system as a Twin. Now at this point, at 9pm, I would have thought that common sense and good customer service would kick in and the approach would be "I am sorry sir about the mistake so we will upgrade you at no addiitional charge" Instead it took the involvement of the Duty Manager to resolve the issue but even then the Duty Manager disappeared in to the back office to discuss the matter and not so much as a "sorry for the inconvenience" was received.

The hotel suited our purpose. It was central and yes, it is noisy as previous reviewers have mentioned, but it is a City Centre location. I am glad I did not pay extra for the suite as it was fairly small although well furnished.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Please accept my apologies for the error on your booking and the level of service you experienced by both front desk and the duty manager when trying to resolve the issue. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am disappointed to learn that we did not remedy the error swiftly and with an apology on this occasion. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to this hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

standard holiday inn fair, could do with a make over, rooms small but clean. free wifi in all rooms but mine couldnt get a signal! hotel does not have a pool, suana nor gym. Hotel does not have any car parking. you have to park in a multi storey car park accross the road which is open and manned 24hrs which cost me £28 for 2 days.A Holiday inn express is exactly next door at half the price and brand new so would be a better bet for a short stay as the holiday inn i stayed in had none of the added values that make the choice over a holiday inn express worth while. both excellent location for shopping, bars etc. Hotel not recomended as holiday inn express next door better value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The Express by Holiday Inn which is located next door is our sister hotel, and is a limited service brand, allowing guests to choose which services and facilities best meet their needs. Whilst the hotel does not benefit from leisure facilities, there are other differences between the 2 properties, primarily the full service restaurant and bar, a cooked breakfast offering, room service and bathtubs.

Unfortunately the car park is not owned by the hotel therefore we have no control over the pricing, however our guests do receive discounted rates which are in line with many other hotels in the city centre.

I'm glad that you found the location of the hotel excellent and I do hope that if you return to Glasgow you will again consider staying at one of our 2 properties.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Booked this hotel with Holiday Inn Priority points for a weekend away, arriving at the hotel I asked if I had been upgraded and was told “no” we do not upgrade on free nights. I explained that I was a Platinum member and that I was entitled to one and I was still told “no”. After a bit of to discussion I was told that it was the hotel that agreed to upgrade and not Holiday Inns, however, the receptionist / manager greed to the upgrade. The real reason is that the hotel was a franchise and not part of the Holiday Inn group and they do not have to follow the same rules, so club members beware.

Other than the above, the check in process was fine and simple, the car parking is in a separately run multi-story car park across the road. The hotel has an agreement with the car park which reduces the overnight cost significantly.

As to the hotels facilities, they were ok, the bar was fine, but a bit pricey, we did not eat in the restaurant or have breakfast so cannot comment upon the food.

The rooms despite being “executive” they were a little pokey and this may in part due to the height of the room. The room I had was also a little tired, but all in all, it was ok. The general location of the hotel was good for exploring the city and was easy to find. The heating and cooling were fine and there were no issues with noise.

However, taking all things into account, the only thing that would make me go back would be the location, but that may be a little harsh.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for your review of the hotel. As a valued Priority Club member, please accept my apologies for the incorrect information you received on check in. Platinum level Priority Club members are eligible to a complimentary upgrade at all Holiday Inn hotels, subject to availability, upon arrival. If an upgraded room type is available (which is not likely to be sold), then this should be made available to you, even when redeeming your points. I'm sorry that this was not your experience on this occasion and I will ensure that this training need is investigated by our Priority Club Champion.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolves
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great hotel right in the middle of Glasgow.Sauciehall street 2mins.Good bars and resaurants a stones throw away.Try the horse shoe bar if you can find it. parking available opposite but its a bit pricey.Good staff on the whole and nice facilities,clean rooms with a nice bathroom.Hotel bar expensive but ok,and breakfast is ok,,,,,ask for fresh eggs though,you may not be offered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found our central location ideal for your visit. Eggs cooked to order, are, as you say available on request and we are more than happy to provide this service for you should you require eggs which are not readily available on the buffet.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland; a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which is some of the best in Europe outside of London. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.