We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Newcastle
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is well situated with the Theatre Royal a 5 minute walk away and loads of restaurants and bars close by. All the staff we talked to were extremely pleasant and helpful and the bar and restaurant have a far more intimate feel to them compared to the usual hotel chain sterility. One tip is that the hotel does not have parking but there is a multi story literally across the road for which you get an overnight discounted rate if you get the car park ticket validated at the hotel reception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    257
    115
    32
    19
See reviews for
70
229
59
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coleraine northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from a stay in this hotel we arrived at 9 am in the morning they had a room ready so witch was handy the staff at this hotel could not do enough for you so friendly the room was spotless and clean bed was comfy as well. And the hotel is so handy to the shops I have stayed in A lot of hotels in Glasgow this is up there with the best of them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel.

It was great to read that we got the room nice and early for you and that the staff could not do enough for you. Thank you again for your high praise an we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights last month. Good location but not the best place I have ever stayed. Rooms are tired and need modernised. it was clean but noisy when the window was opened. Lift is very small and slow and there is only one in the htl so we just used stairs to the 4th floor. Staff on reception are friendly and were quick when my hairdryer didnt work to provide a replacement. We didnt have breakfast as there is a pret almost next door. The only thing we had was "cold" hot chocolates in the bar one night which was served with lovely tablet. Not sure I would return...

Room Tip: Not sure if the penthouse may be the way forward if you have to stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to see that you enjoyed the location and found the rooms clean. I was sorry to read that you found the rooms tired, as you can see from other reviews this is not the usual experience of our guests. We have a busy maintenance schedule which includes re painting all the rooms to keep them fresh and modern. Also we do have 2 lifts in the hotel and not 1 as you mentioned in your review.

I was sorry to read that you are unsure of returning, but I do hope you would give the hotel another chance and I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I work in Glasgow centre every now and again; I like this hotel cos it is edge of the hustle and bustle of the City and great for the atmosphere around the theatre area with lots of trendy bars, bistros and cafes etc. It is also handy for a quick getaway to the M8, close by (discounted parking is available over the road in a multi-story). Hotel itself is clean and tidy, nice bar area and breakfast is good in the well stocked eating area (not eaten on a night but it always looks busy). Reception friendly enough and rooms clean, spacious and adequate. Sometimes a little on the noisy side if you get a room near the main road (morning traffic and night-time atmosphere) but nowhere near bad enough to lose marks. Have stayed at the "Express" next door too which meets all the same standards mostly.

Room Tip: decent location for Glasgows trendier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location and that you found the rooms clean and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have now stayed here for nearly 4 weeks (not weekends) for work. I chose it for its central location mainly, a short walk to the main shopping centres and the theatres.
It has been spotlessly clean, vey comfortable beds, lovely toiletries. The food from the restaurant is lovely and always delivered hot to the room. Breakfast is sometimes a bit on the cold side.
The staff have been always very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble!
Will be coming back!!

Room Tip: The executive rooms have more space and are easier to live in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing us over the past month and reviewing the hotel.

It was great to read that you find the staff friendly and helpful, I truly believe that they are the hotels strength and it’s great to read that that comes across.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is great if travelling by coach to a cruise from Southampton as it is very close to Buchananan bus station and the pick up coaches leave from there early in the morning. It is also great if just wanting a weekend shopping or going to the theatre. The bedrooms are small and old fashioned but are fine for one or two nights. The food at La Bonne Auberge is good and if you have a tastecard you can cut the price by half. We have used this hotel many times and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you have used the hotel many times and would recommend it to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Exellent location nice comfortable rooms with amazing beds and very clean bathrooms but the only problem is with the breakfast it's rich but some of the food is smelly and looks old and not fresh and this is not likely for a 15£ per person breakfast.
I personally advise you to stay in this hotel but eat your breakfast somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed most points of the hotel but sorry to read that you found the breakfast not of the quality that you would expect.

Our breakfast has large variety of hot and cold items. The hot buffet items are locally sourced and replenished throughout the morning to keep all items fresh and hot, I do hope that on your return you give our breakfast another chance as we generally get great feedback on our breakfast.

It was great to read that you would return and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland; a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which is some of the best in Europe outside of London. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.