We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok but not stunning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel to your Saves list
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   59 Union St, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
fylde
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's ok but not stunning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The room I was originally given was awful, Close to reception and the residents lounge , no window to open and too hot. I asked to change rooms- no problem and was given a room on the next floor which was fine.
The breakfast was ok but not stunning and twice the waiting staff tried to clear my table before I had finished ! The hotel isn't in a great area but its ok. You could hear/feel the rumble of the trains! I 'm not sure I would stay here again , but it was clean and cheap - just fitted the criteria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    73
    98
    50
    92
See reviews for
23
121
65
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The dirtiest hotel i have ever stayed in - never again, i would recommend a youth hostel first!!

Rooms are crap, rubbish decor, bad staff, graffiti all over finisher, television broken. AVOID.

Avoid this hotel at all costs, much rather of slept on a bench.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here one night as boyfriend and I were in Glasgow to go to a concert so thought it would be handy as it was nearby. When we got to reception we were informed there was no life and we were on the top floor. when we got there the corridor sloped and looked unsafe. The room was drab and uncared for with mis-matched furniture. We couldn't open the bathroom door fully as the floor sloped upwards and the door got stuck! Very dated bathroom and the pattern on the tiles showed up just how sloped the floor was. Breakfast was disappointing, I had to get my own as it was coffee and toast, my boyfriend had cooked breakfast so the waitress brought his. She wasn't very cheery either. I didn't feel safe or clean staying there and the stairs were a killer. There are other cheap hotels who's standard is much higher. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Pro's - The room was a good size, the location great and the price was very reasonable. Clean and tidy too. Fresh towels and extras like toiletries, cookies and bottles of water. Breakfast included in price.

Con's - Noisy outside, dated decor, uneven and long stair climb.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice in 2011 and both times had a great weekend the staff were helpful and when we discovered out tv wasnt working we were immediately moved to another room the first time we had booked a twin room and were given a triple room with a huge bathroom the second visit we were put in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel which faced a brick wall we immediately voiced our annoyance of this and were moved to a room at the front both times we were on the floor at reception Breakfast was adequate and did the job All in all i found this hotel did the job and the staff were helpful and accomodating towards us i wouldnt hestitate to return or reccomend it to others

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Located close to Central Station and Argyle Street for access to shopping, this hard-to-find hotel is situated above the ground floor shops with an entrance you could blink and miss.

After a climb up to reception, you're faced with another climb to your rooms.
The rooms are spacious, with everything you need for a night's stay.
The rooms were clean, however there was a nasty smell which got worse when you went through to the bathroom. This wasn't restricted to my room, but was found in my friends rooms too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

theres are pros for this hotel (word hotel used loosely) but also lots of cons!! ill bear in mind that it was £50 a night for 2 of us and for a central location is quite reasonable..BUT still think this was quite dear for what you get!

the location is EXCELLENT..right next door to Glasgow Central Station you can literally jump off the train and in the door, but the down side to this is...you know in jurassic park when the water in the glass shakes when the dinosaur is approaching..lol!?? its like that every 5 flippin minutes..glass shakes..rumble..bed shakes in that order!!! so being that close to the station has its downsides!

room is small but has a decent telly, and storage..BUT you can hear EVERY toilet flush/shower and other things through the walls from next door/upstairs..quite annoying! we had a view of a wall with generators that buzzed all night also annoying...room was so hot that we needed the window open but with the window open there was no chance to sleep with the buzzing/ SEAGULLS??? seagulls were a pain going on an on an on all night long..do seagulls not sleep seriously?? lol!! :D

bathroom was very clean and shower was very hot and quite spacious..but the toilet was fallin off! was scared to sit on it! beds were clean and comfortable.

breakfast had a really really good selection of food...it was plentiful and staff pleasant..however the cooked breakfast was cold..tasted lovely just cold..

the most worrying thing was everyone that we talked to..as in friends in Glasgow we were visiting and their friends all seemed to thing this was the hotel prostitutes used?? didnt see anything of the sort though..but unnerved me a bit

there was tape covering holes in the ceiling and dirt in the draws and dust all over the place..but it was cheap and did what it said bed and beakfast..staff were very helpful, but overall i think next time ill pay the extra 20 quid an go up the road a bit

Room Tip: dont sleep at the back by the generators!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Address: 59 Union St, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.