We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King's Theatre

King's Theatre
297 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JN, Scotland
0844 871 7627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 127 Attractions in Glasgow
Attraction details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wicked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went to see the fantastic wicked and the whole experience was horrific!

The theatre was far too hot and cramped. When I asked the team leader if I could pull the small curtain to the side so air could come in from an open window she said no!! Then during the showing pulled the curtain to the side a bit to cool herself!

I was outraged! Zero customer service and ruined the whole experience and show.

The theatre must be overheated and needs to install air con. The heat was so high it must have been illegal!

I wouldn't recommend going to see any shows there! We travelled from edinburgh specially and won't be again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    65
    26
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went to see tonight's the night, which was good but overshadowed by the drink prices - £18 for 2 glasses of wine and a bottle of water. Would expect to pay that for a bottle of wine maybe!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Offer a good range of tickets to suit all budgets, however try and research whether some of the cheaper views will be worthwhile. Staff were friendly and helpful, not much seating in the bar. Seats were slightly cramped, and the stairs up on the gallery very steep. However this is due to it not having been refurbished, which is a wonder in itself as the architecture and look of the cinema is beautiful. Only little grumbles, very enjoyable overall!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wicked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Booked many months ago and was looking forward to a night of great entertainment however we were disappointed. The seating was uncomfortable and the facilities were stretched to say the least and detracted from our night out - which was average at best.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmellingon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wicked Musial Too hot theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went her to see wicked 31st may. The musical was fantastic and even from the upper circle the view was great. Only downside is the heat in the theatre was terrible. The theatre will always get people in for the shows but maybe investing in a good air con system would be beneficial. The heat was so bad that some people in front of us did not come back in as it was too hot. Also I know it's a theatre and prices on the high side but £2 for a small bottle water and £7.90 for a glass of wine is just a bit exuberant. Enjoyed the show though.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to King's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.