We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moyra Janes

Moyra Janes
20 Kildrostan Street, Glasgow G41 4LU, Scotland
+44 141 423 5628
Improve this listing
Ranked #462 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: on the corner of Nithsdale road in glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cafe culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The cafe culture is alive and well in the southside, staff friendly and welcoming, a great place to to sit, relax, chat and eat. We will be back again soon.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good option for dinner, lunch or just coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Food is good quality from meals to cakes.
Staff friendly & attentive.
Well priced food & never left hungry. Nothing amazing about MJs but never fails to feed & water you well.
Could go with an old friend or for business lunch.
Never booked and although busy have always seemed to get a seat.
Recommend +++.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Busy place with a nice atmosphere and good service. Not suitable if you can't do stairs as toilets downstairs. Coffee very good and main of goats cheese and pear nice. Inexpensive and worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are local residents and have eaten many times within this establishment. The food is superb, the cakes are delicious, offering not only a varied menu, {which also includes options if you are a vegetarian}, but good value for money also. We have taken both family and friends to eat here, and on each and every occasion our parties liked their meal. I would definitely recommend Moyra Janes as a relaxed dining out experience to be enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent local place for brunch, afternoon tea, early evening bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've visited here a few times. Afternoon tea with meringues, which are huge or scones, cakes, tarts.....so much to chose from, all delicious.

Brunch menu covers all appetites I'd say and the food is lovely. Plus a newspaper to read if you're going it alone, which I do sometimes.

Licensed too, so if you're going at night, nice to have a drink with your meal.

Overall I think this local restaurant/cafe has something for everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moyra Janes also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Moyra Janes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moyra Janes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.