We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all my boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Dijon - CLOSED

Cafe Dijon
75 Lauderdale Gardens | Hyndland, Glasgow G12 9QN, Scotland
0141 339 9293
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ticks all my boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Cafe Dijon for ages and have never got round to writing a review.
Here are the boxes it ticks for me- fabulous service, especially during busy times, excellent home cooked food ( the lasagne I had today was splendid ),lovely home baking ( lemon meringue pie is delish )newspapers, spotlessly clean and a lovely neighbourhood atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at Cafe Dijon, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear mumonhols, many thanks for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoy our Cafe, the team really appreciate it. Here's to many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Awful place. Bad coffee and second rate food. Also really unfriendly. Atmosphere ok but several other places nearby although slim pickings in this neck of the woods

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at Cafe Dijon, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Dave,
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, we would welcome your feedback on the issues and have an opportunity to make right. If you could contact me on our website, I would be grateful. Thanks Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We visited this cafe with an itison voucher for afternoon tea for 2.
Inside the cafe it looks like any other cafe.
The woman who served us was very nice and welcoming.
The food arrived and the were no complaints!
Tasty sandwiches, yummy scones and delicious mini cakes (with fresh strawberries).
Great lunch! :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at Cafe Dijon, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Kelly,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea. What would your ideal cafe look lke?
Thanks Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“It was a great afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just returned from Cafe Dijon where we used our Itison voucher for afternoon tea. It was delicious!! We enjoyed a variety of small sandwiches, mini scones with cream and jam, mini strawberry desserts and chocolate strawberries with a HUGE pot of tea (coffee is also available.
Lovely food, a warm welcome and a good atmosphere too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at Cafe Dijon, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Glasgow John,
Thanks for adding this to tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your afternoon Tea, hopefully we will see you again soon, our new menu comes out early next month and we hope you will enjoy that too. Many Thanks Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Fab afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We visited here with a discounted voucher for afternoon tea and although we found it quite difficult to find the cafe, it was well worth the search. The lady that runs the cafe has a lovely nature and is dilligent and efficient. This was by far one of the best teas we have had and you can see from my reviews that we have tried many!!. A full pot of tea (4 cups each), large tasty sandwiches, lovely scones and fantastic micro cakes. We would return in a heartbeat.

One last thing though, the street address and area are correct (Tripadvisor) but the town is Glasgow not Port Glasgow. This may cause difficulties for reveiwers finding the cafe and posting a review. Please change the town to Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at Cafe Dijon, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Holiday Fanatic, Thanks for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the update on the web information, I have asked Trip Advisor to rectify. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dijon also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Dijon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.