We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location good clean rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location good clean rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just a short walk from the Queens Street rail station. Good sized rooms with lovely shower rooms. Tea and coffee facilities are ample. Staff are very helpful and polite. Breakfast was buffet with cereals and choice of cakes croissants and cooked foods. Our shower was only warm but when I told reception they were very apologetic and helpful. Tour bus stops were just a short walk away as were public transport and plenty of shops restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As always it is great to hear such positive comments about the team and the cleanliness of our rooms. I was sorry to hear you had an issue with the shower but I am glad the team were able to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    327
    115
    26
    11
See reviews for
117
239
64
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, , United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we had an excellent stay here the staff( Mark and Adam) were very friendly and helpful the hotel was clean warm and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious a home from home and really central to everywhere theatre bus station shopping centre and subway to everywhere 10/10

Room Tip: The room we had was on second floor and near the elevator to access the breakfast room reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Wendy,

It was fantastic to read your comments, especially that you found the hotel to be "a home from home!".

I have passed your comments onto the team, especially Mark and Adam and we all look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and couldn't have asked for more from a "budget" hotel. The room was basic and clean but did have some nice touches such as a choice of pillow and a great mattress on the bed. Only negative would be the size of the TV for the distance from the bed, it could have been just maybe the next size up (I was staying in room 469). The staff on reception (which doubled as the bar) were courteous, friendly and efficient. The location is superb both from being close to the shopping areas of Buchannan Street, Sauchiehall Street and even the St Enoch Center but also for any additional travelling as you have the underground nearby and major train and bus stations. When visiting Glasgow again, I would definitely make this my first choice for checking availability.

Room Tip: Higher floors possibly have slightly less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write some great comments regarding your recent stay. It is always fantastic to read such good comments about the team. I have passed your comments on and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire,scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed overnight at this very nice hotel. Walking distance to Buchanan Street bus station, shops and night entertainment. Hotel very clean and comfortable. Stafff very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as attending a concert. Reception was informative and very professional, friendly and welcoming. Comfortable bed , good quality linen and very clean and well kept appeared to be new decor and fixtures and fittings. Tv is small but perfectly functional.
The room has a serious lack in wall sockets - in fact only having ONE!! Why this is the case I honestly don't know but it's not great at all, bit silly not to have more.
Location is good being very close to Sauchiehall street and Buchannan Galleries shopping centre, only drawback to this is that we were looking onto West Nile Street which is a very busy noisy road. This in itself would not be a major problem IF you don't have to open the window in the room. Unfortunately we could not find a temperature control for the heating in the room and had to open the window ( it was incredibly hot in the room). At approx. 4 in the morning were awoken from shouts and screams of passers by which then followed by banging doors in the corridors of the hotel. It really is a reflection on the general public as opposed to the hotel itself in how selfish and ignorant others can be. I don't think we would return to stay due to the price that I paid. I did feel that it was a little expensive and not the best experience we have had staying in Glasgow elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking West Nile Street and a room that has more than one socket with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We take on board all comments given to us to continually improve our service.
We advertise extension leads at reception for our guests who may require to use a few appliances at the same time.
I was sorry to hear that you were woken by others and that it was not the best experience you have had in Glasgow.

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a great night away with my fiance in this hotel. The staff at check-in was lovely and even when I had some special requests everything was sorted quickly. I stayed in room 452 on the fourth floor which was very quiet and easy to get to. The room was nice and clean and we even got free WiFi which was great. Breakfast was great even though I would have preferred having maybe a little more to choose from (e.g. some cheese would have been nice and some different sorts of yoghurts maybe).

The location of the hotel is great, it's literally around the corner from all the shops and a cinema.

Room Tip: If you would like a quite room ask for one on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

many Thanks for your lovely comments regarding the hotel!

We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here on Monday 13th May overnight. Had tickets to see a play at The Pavillion Theatre which was just around the corner.
Staff could not have been more helpful, they were completely pleasant and genuinely friendly at all times. Nothing negative to say at all.
Have to say the bed was the most comfortable bed EVER, even better than my own bed at home and was wondering if possible to find out the make of mattress please.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read that you slept in "the most comfortable bed ever!".

It is always lovely to read that the team are genuine and friendly and I have passed your comments onto them.

Please contact the hotel and we will be happy to provide you with the information you require.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until 14:00 and 18:00 until 24:00 and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.