We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased with this stay,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So pleased with this stay,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good location, clean and big rooms and excellent friendly staff. Really you couldn't ask for more. Right next to the bus station which takes you to the airport for £5 (20min ride), and all the shops and restaurants. Brilliant! We will stay here again for sure when back in Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay.

Myself and the team look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    350
    125
    29
    12
See reviews for
131
255
66
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had to find somewhere to stay at short notice and walked in to this hotel and was greeted by vey friendly staff and booked in quickly and efficiently for £65 on a weekend night. My room was clean, warm and spacious, with a sofa and spotless ensuite. The bed was comfortable with a choice of soft and firm pillows. Breakfast was average but it was nice to have something hot to start the day and the staff member went out of her way to be helpful and is a credit to the hotel. Only a few minutes walk from Buchanan Street Bus Station, this hotel is one I will come back to again.

Room Tip: This is a fairly quiet place to stay, with the exception of sirens from the nearby fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear TracyG,

It was great to read your review regarding your recent stay. The team here have customer service and satisfaction as their top priority so your comments are greatly appreciated.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Really friendly and informative staff at reception.Great location for those choosing to leave the car at home as it is literally a stones throw from Buchanan Street bus station.Fantastic value -£52 for room and breakfast.Hotel was very busy and breakfast was a little chaotic but still not bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear GillianC54,

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay. Its great for myself and the team to read such positive comments.

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Reception staff on arrival were very welcoming. We were a group of 10 but check in was easy. Staff were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Rooms were spacious and well kept and we had very little noise for the 3 nights we stayed. The bar was small but comfortable and again the staff were very friendly. The location was fabulous, albeit on a hill it wasn't too far from town and within easy reach of all facilities. Breakfast was the same every day but always fresh & well stocked with choices of tea/coffee/juice, cereals, fruit, warm rolls & croissants, toast, beans, sausage, scrambled eggs, yoghurts, muffins. Breakfast service was excellent. Nothing really to fault with this hotel, if I had to say anything I would have liked another socket in the room near the mirror (an essential requirement for a female haha!). We had a great memorable stay, pleasant and comfortable. Glasgow was a fab city to visit. great for shopping, sight seeing, and the locals are very very welcoming & friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: If you don't like using lifts choose a low floor as the lifts are quite small (max 8 people). W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Angjo,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay.

We look forward to your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great location for shopping, Royal Concert Hall and city centre attractions. There are two really good restaurants within a one minute walk. There is also a cinema complex across the road. Very friendly, helpful staff and small comfortable bar. We were on the third floor and couldn't believe how quiet it was. View onto office block wasn't great but probably quieter than the street view and price you pay for great city centre location. Very clean, warm and really comfortable bed/pillows. Minor gripes would be that the shower was a bit cool and only one plug socket in room. That apart, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was great to read that your experience was a positive one.
With regards to the sockets in the room, we keep a number of extra extension cables at the front desk for our guests who need them. I'm sorry that you may not have been aware of this during your stay.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The last time I stayed at this hotel I said that other budget hotels in Glasgow should take note on how they are run. I stand by that assessment. We arrived early into Glasgow and went to drop off our bags so we could go out exploring before checking in but we were allowed to check in there and then (a nice suprise considering the amount of people booked in because of the football at Hampden). The room was clean (the bathroom smelled fresh and clean as soon as the bathroom door was opened) and was comfortable throughout the stay.

Again the staff there do a wonderful job and they put other hotels to shame. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel. Not a pretty view but really quiet for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. The team here pride themselves on our customer service and it is always great for them to receive comments like yours.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly but too busy and we had a long wait to check in and out. We were awoken at four am to hammering on next door which went on sporadically for half an hour. Rooms weren't quiet and heard next door moving about.
Breakfast good, plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from hen/stag party's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We take on board all comments received to enable us to continually improve our service.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until 14:00 and 18:00 until 24:00 and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.