We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Glasgow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Westmount
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I usually stay in business hotels that are not Spartan in nature. Decided to stay here because my stay was short and had to be downtown. Glasgow hotels are somewhat expensive compared to North American hotels given the exchange rates of dollar to British pounds. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, comfortable, the staff incredibly pleasant and helpful. Wifi was included as was a good breakfast. Very good location. Great value for a short stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

It was fantastic to read such positive comments regarding your recent stay here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Glasgow.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    327
    115
    26
    11
See reviews for
117
239
64
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel for an excellent price for bed and breakfast and even though the breakfast was basic overall an excellent deal thi was.the stsff were helpfull and friendly, the room was far better than expected and was spptlessly clean as were the public areas.THe area was perfect for a walk around the dhops bars and resturants mesr by.I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have just spent two nights in this perfectly located hotel. The exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff made our stay so extra pleasant. Bearing in mind the normal type prices for a city centre hotel the facilities for what we paid were very good indeed. The hotel was spotless as was our comfortable bedroom.
We have stayed three times there and will be back.
The overall service considering the price was great.
Well done Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your fantasic review of the hotel. It is wonderful for the team to know that our guests appreciate their hard work. Customer service is at the heart of the team here at the Express and I have passed your comments on.

We look forward to your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is a good position for the Glasgow City centre. We stayed in Glasgow for the weekend and went to a concert at the Glasgow Concert Hall, ideal hotel for this and for the shopping. The room was very nice and very clean, the only down on the hotel was the breakfast, it was like sitting in a canteen, a bit too hecitc in the morning. The sausages were like lint, no choice of eggs, only bacon on a weekend!!! would rather pay a bit extra to have a nice "scottish breakfast". Were really impressed by the security, only lift working with room card.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.

As we are part of a large brand our complimentary breakfast is standard throughout and scrambled eggs, beans and sausage or bacon are the items served in all holiday inn express hotels.
If you require a breakfast with more hot items, we can offer our sister hotel, the Holiday Inn which is right next door to us at a very competative price.

We hope to see you again soon here at the hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

What a woderfully friendly and helpful staff who were most welcoming and made you really feel most welcome and at home. What a pleasure to stay there. Service and breakfast were excellent. Free wi fi is the icing on the cake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel.

I have passed your comments onto the team and we hope to take care of you again on your next visit to Glasgow!

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

While on an explorartion of the UK, we had the occasion to spend four days in the wonderful city of Glasgow. While we were there, we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express City Centre-Theatreland. It is a perfect location as it is only a few blocks from the Central Station and close to a myriad of pubs and restaurants, the shopping Hogh Street and agood food store (Sainsbury's). The Concert Hall is 1 block away.

What we found MOST enjoyable every day, when we returned to our hotel, was the friendliness of the staff at reception (Robert and George) who were welcoming and helpful to the point where we felt they were Concierges! Our room was well appointed and very clean. The bed provided us both a good sleep every night.

One evening, we had bought a bottle of wine at Sainsbury's to enjoy in the room but were not looking forward to using the "glasses" in the room. Robert gave us two, proper, wine glasses to keep in the room during our stay. Good thing, too, as we returned to Sainsbury's again to replenish! (As an aside, the Sainsbury's nearby has wonderful hot and cold takeaway foods, and a surprisingly good wine selection.)

Every detail one could want was looked after by the front desk, but the topper is the hot English style breakfast buffet which included real scrambled eggs, baked beans, toast (you toast fresh) and jams, croissants and muffins, juices and hot bevereges. Real value of at least £10 each, per day. The ladies (and I am SOOO SORRY that we did not note their names in our diary) who attended to the room made sure that nothing was let to be empty, and the tables were cleared and cleaned immediately anyone finished. Very nice.

Another point was the Wifi is included in the rate. A rate which is truly amazing given the level of service, the quality of the room accomodation, and the inclusions.

In summary, if you are planning to travel to Glasgow for a visit, we cannot recommend the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre-Theatreland highly enough.

We stayed in a Travel Lodge in Edinburgh after this stay. Much a disappointment after here. Not much less price, and no breakfast. Wifi was £10/day or £40/wk!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a fairly busy road so, do ask for a room on the "off street side", and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding the hotel and the team!

I have passed your comments on as it is important that they are recognised for a job well done and a job they love doing.

Its great to see that you enjoyed out complimentry breakfast also.

We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Some of the staff here are awesome, some just couldn't give a damn. At one point I was stood at the bar, before 2 people came to check in. I did not get acknowledged, just ignored. Then the phone rang - which understandably they have to answer, but there was no 'I'll be 2 minutes' - I was just blanked.

The car park opposite is a short stay car park. Upon arrival, no-one told us of this/asked us if we were parked OK. Upon discovering the hotel information booklet (stored in the TV) we were informed that the Buchanan Galleries car park was £8 a day. It cost us an extra £54 to park in Concert car park (for just 3 days). Not happy nor impressed.

Breakfast was mediocre - avoid the orange juice and the croissant! There was no bacon on any of the three days we were there for.

Plus points include housekeeping, the staff that could be bothered were fantastic and helpful, and the hotel was secure, in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. The concert square car park has a cost of £12 per 24 hours and you have to get your ticket validated at the front desk before your departure. Sometimes there is an issue with the tickets and our guests just pop back over to the hotel to get the card re validated.
Buchannan Galleries car park is £10 for 24 hours but you do not have the option of taking your car out whenever you want as it closes overnight. from 10pm to 8am in the morning.

With regards to the staff not being attentive, I will certainly be looking into this as this is definately not the standard of service we command at this hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until 14:00 and 18:00 until 24:00 and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.