We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Good Spirits Co.

The Good Spirits Co.
23 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 1HW, Scotland
44 0 141 258 8427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 47 Shopping in Glasgow
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great selection of spirits, beers and cigars on sale and brilliant tasting nights too, all the staff are so helpful and friendly and have a great knowledge of their products. Fantastic place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable staff & great selection ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The shop is on Bath Street, just off Buchanan Street, so it's very central for anyone wanting a lovely bottle of booze.
They have a wide selection of whiskies but they also have a good selection of other spirits. In the last year I've bought a couple of bottles if whisky, a fancy bottle of tequila, some cachaca for a caipirinha-aholic, some lovely Scottish gin, a couple of miniatures & some cigars all as gifts. I've also bought myself some syrups for cocktails and elderflower gin. They have the best syrup collection that I can find in Glasgow including the Briottet ones (I love making cocktails).
This place isn't cheap and I wouldn't buy any every day bottles here that are available in most shops but rather use it for gifts and to find specialist stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hands downs, best place to buy whisky in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great selection of whisky and micro-brews, staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I was surprised at the price points as well; large range, but a huge selection of great offerings that won't break the bank.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Whisky Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

FANTASTIC spot to shop for whisky in Glasgow! Huge selection at great prices and fabulous service. We stopped in looking for a variety of bottles for family members and we weren't really sure what we wanted but we were given some great recommendations by the staff. They also have a really great selection of craft beers...definitely wished we could've tried a few but we were only passing through town. I did my research before arriving in Glasgow and all signs pointed to Good Spirits as THE place to buy whisky...and I can definitely say that I was not let down!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The Best Shop in Glasgow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cannae fault the guys here. Friendly, knowledgable, fun and patient!

Took the old boy, Big Dave in here on Friday late afternoon. He had done a fair amount of electrical work in my flat recently, and in true Dad style, wouldn't actually take cash (to be fair, I didn't want to embarass him by asking how much he wanted!). So, in true favourite child style, I took him here, gave him a budget, and smiled quietly as his wee eyes lit up at the mecca before him.

He must have tried a good 5 whiskies, and enjoyed a wee chat with Mark about the virtues of Uisge Beatha.

He finally settled on a bottle of the new Devils Punchbowl from the Arran Malt, a wee Cask 23, and some Belgium beers.

He left, like a kid at Christmas with a toy he wanted all year, glowing with the water of life, and a spring in his step, all the way to the Pot Still.

A great shopping experience all round, topped up with a wee facebook message to make sure the old boy was happy. Yes, yes he was!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Spirits Co. also viewed

 
 

Been to The Good Spirits Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Good Spirits Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.