We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akbars

Akbars
573-581 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7PQ, Scotland
+44 141 222 2258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I and my wife have visited Akbar's Glasgow many times during last six months and every time we found consistent good quality food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    73
    40
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Akbars is one of the best Indian restaurants in Glasgow.food is always to the sane high standard and the service is great not as pricy as other restaurants either would recommend anyone to try it never had a bad meal in any akbars I have been to

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I experniced many time and found it very good every time excellent food nice atmosphere and my kids love to go there

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will definitely be back! First class service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I went to Akbars tonight with my parents and boyfriend. The service was second to none, Naveed was an excellent host, he was brilliant, welcoming and very helpful! He made our dining experience!

Thank you Naveed and Akbars!


  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still looking for good indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very friendly staff who seated us very promptly. The manager also called over a few time to ensure we were ok.
It was a busy venue even for a Sunday night.
Large overall menu but we were concentrating on the vegetarian section.
We had started which did over fill us before the main course arrived.
There varied dishes to choose from.I settled on a biriyani.

Amazed by the size of the naan bread, it was extremely filling but was perfect for our main meals.
We took the opportunity to take home what we could not finish . Very nice service but they mixed the main courses together. Not ideal but nothing to cry over.
May give it a second go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbars also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Akbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.