We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food,service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daawat Indian Restaurant

Daawat Indian Restaurant
82 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland (Formerly Mama's Rasoi)
+44 141 222 2632
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Daawat Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #342 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are just behind St Enoch Centre Serving Lunch and dinner
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic food,service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

at first glance this restaurant in one of the shabbier parts of glasgow city centre would not fill you confidence but looks most certainly can be decieving,once inside my good lady and i were welcomed and shown to a nice booth,the groupon voucher that we were using obviously would mean great value but on inspection of the menu prices it was clear to see that any further visits would not break the bank and with the bring your own bottle policy making it all the more tempting to return then you can see there are no down sides, the food was excellent and every care was taken to make sure it was to our individual taste. all in all a very pleasant experiance

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food outstanding, and friendly, welcoming service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had passed this restaurant once and wanted to try so when a groupon deal came up, I bought it!! We were welcomed into the restaurant very warmly, and given a lovely booth table. We had our own wine (as is BYOB) and the waiter was very quick to open our bottle and bring our glasses. We were given poppadoms and spicy onions to start which were very tasty and the spicy onions very flavoursome and not bland as some can be, had a nice kick.

The menu we were offered as part of the deal was their set menu which I think is available 5-7pm and offered a good variety of starters and mains (and if we wanted anything from alacarte menu wasn't too much more). We both chose chicken pakora which was beautiful and the curries we both ordered were lovely - we were asked how we would like the curries which was a bonus as I prefer my curry to be a bit spicier than my partner so we were able to choose. We had garlic naan and rice and ordered an additional naan to soak up the beautiful sauces from the curries.

Would definitely recommend it to anyone, and the offers they have at lunchtime and early evening are a bargain especially considering they offer BYOB!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Bargain at Lunch Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had the 2 course lunch time menu which at £4.95 a head was an absolute bargain. The food was excellent and the service was very efficient. As others have said this is more of a cafe than a restaurant but this is not an issue at lunch time. We did have a little trouble finding it and it was only a couple of doors from where we were staying! I looked at online photos but just couldn't place it - turned out we had actually walked past it on the previous day but, when they are closed they draw all the curtains and pull down a shutter with the result that the place looks like it has closed down which could be why, when we visited, the place there were no other customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, slow but friendly staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Bright, clean surroundings but definitely more of a cafe than a restaurant. Visited on a quiet night, only four tables - including our own occupied - therefore would have expected more of a professional service - which unfortunately - although pleasant - was extremely slow. This criticism aside, the quality and selection of food available was excellent. Freshly made and good sized portions - and vegetarian options were plentiful. Would visit again - based on food quality and value for money - probably at lunchtime as opposed to evening out in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wasted my time lol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Wasted my time trying so many different restaurants.
Mama's rasoi is simply the best.
The food is high quality with a peaceful relaxing athmosphere.
A real joy to sit and eat here.
The chef caters for all and there's something for everyone.
The service is fantastic and I would highly recommend. X

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daawat Indian Restaurant also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Daawat Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daawat Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.