We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devoncove Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Devoncove Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   931 Sauchiehall Street | West End, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
thetford norfolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3 day break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

excellent clean great breakfast comfortable bed situated in a nice part of Glasgow and a convenient spot for walking or buses int city centre rooms could do with a wee paint touch up but the hotel was so busy it,s not suprising will def visit again

Room Tip: we had a doble which was well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    200
    163
    86
    124
See reviews for
63
257
43
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The location was an easy walk to the Kelvingrove Museum, and there was a bus for easy access to the city center. The front desk had no change for the bus. Does the management not trust the front desk employees? All employees we met were non-native English speakers. Included breakfast was decent. The stay was all right, but not much better than that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed her many times but have never submitted a review. Many of the reviews I think are unfairly critical but we stay here for a number of reasons. It is conveniently situated, and that is a personal plus. It is generally clean (yes some bathrooms need updated grouting etc) but the bed linen is immaculate and the beds have always been comfortable. The breakfasts are more than ample. Toast is DIY (and damned slow, but we have worked out an efficient order for food!) as is tea/coffee/juice etc. The cooked items are served by staff and you can have what you want from the usual bacon/egg/sausage/tomato/etc and if you want 6 sausages or whatever you can have them!

We have never eaten in the evening but know friends who have - they confirmed our suspicions, that all meals are frozen and not cooked to order. However Glasgow is PACKED with really good restaurants - there are a number nearby - EAT OUT!

It is about a 20 minute walk to the Sauchiehall shipping, but there are many and frequent buses passing the door. Also less than 10 minutes walk to the Kelvingrove Museum.

A booking tip - 10% discount by paying in advance. On a couple of occasions when the price has been too high (in my opinion) or the hotel full, then I have stayed elsewhere locally for a similar price in what has turned out to be much poorer hotels.

It is a fair hotel with a dependable standard. It is good value in my opinion.

Room Tip: For quietness go for a higher floor and at the back (but then no view!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Booked this hotel for four people two rooms. Arrived on the 6th of August after a flight from devon to be told we had cancelled our booking, after getting on the phone to booking.com was told the hotel had phoned the day before and cancelled our booking. In front of us was a party of about 35 Chinese people, not to do them any injustice but I guess the hotel made more money from them than they would from us. Totally disgusted. Obviously the hotel manager knew what had happened because he raced around the area to find us an alternative hotel, and the one we booked in to was 200% better than the one we originally booked. All credit to booking.com for all their help in this appalling situation

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

up front payment is ok if the service stacks up, well here it doesn't!!

no power, no light, no shower in the morning, and no one cared, it took an hour of negotiations to get a refund after being offered another room also with no light, no power and no shower, one to avoid in my opiion

Room Tip: don't stay
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have to agree with the more negative reviews I'm afraid. It's tired, although the room was adequate. Breakfast was the only meal we had. The choice was reasonable, but the food itself just about warm. Staff were a little remote. No one greeted guests when they arrived in the dining room, so it's left to you to work out where to sit, where the toasters are, how to get a pot of tea etc. They do need a Supervisor to deal with sitting arrangements etc I think.
The location was not bad, reasonably quiet area of the City. Sadly however' I don't think that I'd rush back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel is very basic, dated, poor breakfast (have to ask for each breakfast item) with very poor service. My wife and I stayed here in the Commonwealth games in a basic double room (they charged over £700 for the 2 nights). I informed them of a fault with the shower (had no bath) in the morning, that the temp gauge automatically returned to hottest temp, only way it was possible to shower was by holding gauge with one hand all the way through as if not you got burned. Next morning same thing, they stated they had fixed but will look into now and thanks for staying with us. I stated I wished to speak to manager as unsatisfied, not in but promised to get him to call me that day. A week later and 3 further messages later, still no call. Strongly advise you to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Devoncove Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel Glasgow

Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street | West End, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Devoncove Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.