We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Price & Ideal location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devoncove Hotel Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Devoncove Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   931 Sauchiehall Street | West End, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Staff, Great Price & Ideal location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After a mishap with my booking (I booked the wrong night!!!) Robin and the front office team were understanding, helpful & friendly. The price for Glasgow is excelkent and geat value for money, we were all happy with our rooms. Staff throughout our stay were attentive and helpful. Myself and a couple of friends were in Glasgow to meet with other friends and the Devoncove was a perfect base for us. A stones throw from Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, an ideal place to relax for a few hours. I will definitely be booking again when I am back in Glasgow... **Book direct with the hotel, they are very helpful & honoured the web prices I found online.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    143
    119
    66
    99
See reviews for
44
193
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newton stewart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

i booked through booking .com they never confirmed the booking and the hotel was not helpful they took my money and i was told that it was there policy have stayed there with a party off six every time we book through out the year been let down by booking . com and the management off the devoncove never mind there are plenty off hotels in glasgow so goodbye the devoncove twats

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinGlasgowUk, General Manager at Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mr Jess,

When you make a reservation through any online travel agent, like Booking.com, it is very important that you read and understand the terms and conditions. When a booking is made online through an agent, an automated confirmation is sent to the guest and a copy comes to the hotel. This is how we receive your booking in the first instance. Terms and conditions will state cancellation policy, non-refundable rates etc. Unless we receive a call from a guest to cancel a booking, or the guest notifies the booking agent direct to cancel, we proceed as normal expecting the guest to arrive, which is what we did in your case. As you did not notify us of your cancellation, nor Booking.com, your booking was treated as a "No Show" and we consequently charged you the first night's accommodation. This is how the majority of hotels operate around the world. You must appreciate that we cannot hold rooms for guests who do not appear, and turn away business in the process. I have spoken to my team and this was explained to you.

I can only stress the importance of reading terms and conditions online when making a booking that said, this is how the majority of bookings are made nowadays, and receiving an automated email confirmation is standard practice. If what you are saying is that you did not receive this, then this is a matter for you and Bookings.com.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i stayed there for a weekend for my 50th birthday with friends and the night porter was rude swore at us and stuck his forehead into mine and ask what would i do becouse we asked if we could have a room key as one of or friends losed theres i reported this the manger when he came in send a young man called paul out who was fantasic to us and said put a bit on trip advicer and we would get 10% off no sorry nor speaking to us about this rude polish man now if that was me doing this to him i would be in a police station for assult i dont recommend this hotel until this man leaves becouse i thought i was in fawlty towers breakfast not great as u have to find it yourself not wanting to upset staff by asking them where it was manger should be sacked for not seeing that guest are liking there stay dont stay here if you do well on your head be it thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinGlasgowUk, General Manager at Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sirs,

In response to your comment, we were aware that some form of altercation took place between your party of guests and our receptionist, from the handover from that night from the person on duty. Since your complaint we have been investigating the matter through review of CCTV footage and discussing the matter with the relevant staff member. We can confirm that upon completion of our investigation that we have viewed CCTV footage and that the behaviour you have indicated in your comments did not take place. From interviewing our staff member, we believe the altercation occurred after midnight, upon your party’s arrival back to the hotel from birthday celebrations. We believe that our nightshift receptionist was only trying to maintain a controlled environment not to disturb other guests in the hotel, and did not act in the aggressive manner you have complained of. If you have interpreted his actions in another manner then we can only apologise. However, from the hotel’s standpoint, we are satisfied from full investigation into the matter that our staff member did not act out of turn. It may be the case that your recollection of events may be somewhat slightly exaggerated and taken out of context given the time and spirit of the night. With reference to the hotel offering you a discount for you to publicise your demeaning comments, I’m afraid this does not make sense to us, possibly another misunderstanding. We can only apologies if you have left our hotel displeased with the service. We are happy to discuss further if required.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel. The exterior and foyer are old and ugly but my room was actually really gorgeous. Bathroom is cramped and poorly lit. The breakfast was dire- the cold buffet consisted of cereal, fruit from a tin and children's yogurt. The hot breakfast was greasy. Staff were polite but not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Since 'discovering' The Devoncove in 2008 have stayed there several times a year, for business and for pleasure. It is great value for money and the staff are wonderful, always willing to go the extra mile. The location is perfect. The area is vibrant. The hotel is like the city of Glasgow itself: warm, welcoming, old and yet contemporary, unpretentious but actually has a lot to offer , and they want you to enjoy your stay. Rooms are surprisingly spacious, beds are comfortable, breakfast is hearty and varied - it's a 'buffet style' and yet the lovely staff are always on hand if you have a special request - these people are genuinely warm and very efficient. The restaurant and rooms are very clean. The reception area is stylish and comfortable. A great place to stay. Have already booked for my next long weekend.

Room Tip: you can choose a room at the back, overlooking the little car park, or at the front, overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Devoncove Hotel is situated in the West End of Glasgow,just a short bus or taxi ride from the City Centre and within easy walking distance of SECC,Kings Theatre,Kelvingrove Art Gallery,Kelvin Hall,Kelvingrove Park,Glasgow University,and Byers Road with all it's shops,bars and restaurants,while just around the corner Argyle Street in Finnieston has some of the best bars and eating places in Glasgow-try the Ben Nevis pub,for some real highland hospitality or Firebird Bar/Restaurant for some amazing food and real ales from the West Brewery.
There is a small car park which is free,but ample street parking on Sauchiehall St or side streets which is free all day Sat/Sun and metered(cheap) Mon/Fri 8am-6pm.
Our party of 18,in town for a family celebration in nearby Partick,stayed on Saturday 27th April for one night and we found the hotel ideal for all our requirements and very good value for money,including a full cooked Scottish breakfast(or continental choice).
Staff were friendly and helpful at all times-the manager arranged for us to have breakfast in a group,while the night porter kept the residents bar open late so we could have a last couple of drinks before retiring.
The hotel was very busy but nothing was too much trouble for the hard-working staff who made us feel very welcome at all times.
Thank you Robin and Staff for a great hotel experience.

Room Tip: Not City Centre,so no real problem with noise.Rooms at back overlook quiet lane,but front of hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

iOvernight stay for a wedding,found staff very helpful nothing was a bother and found them friendly,rooms clean and comfortable,great choices for breakfast,would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone,excellent location for west end of Glasgow and shopping in the city centre,parking available.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to sauchiehall street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devoncove Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel Glasgow

Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street | West End, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel Glasgow 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Devoncove Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.