We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things That Go Bump in the Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Things That Go Bump in the Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Five minutes from Glasgow Central Station, the Radisson Blu is perfectly located regardless of how you arrive into the city. Arriving late on a Friday evening, I didn't get to see the sleek architectural lines of the hotel exterior until the following morning. On both nights, the hotel was host to glamorous black tie events and the lobby was a hive of activity. Check in was swift and I arrived at the tastefully designed room looking forward to a good rest after catching up with family who had arrived earlier in the day.
Just as we were about to drop off to sleep, a persistent hollow sucking, furniture-across-the-floor-dragging sound echoed into our room at 5 minute intervals. By the time 1am rolled around, we realised this was not our imagination. Bleary eyed we didn't put it down to our room location just opposite the lift shaft and called to ask if the hotel staff could help. Eventually after three or four calls during which we were told that there was an event on (and your point is?) and that they were "seeking to discover the source of the noise" we could bear it no longer and asked to be moved, taken aback at what we felt was an initial reluctance to see to it that we, as paying guests, were accommodated.
We packed our bags and were brought to a new room where we were eventually able to turn off the lights at 2.20am. Not ideal to say the least.
A tip - avoid room 426, the noise is the lift shaft and it goes on all night.
The second room was larger and brighter than the first, the bathroom was travertine tiled with bath and a (rather compact) shower with plenty of shower gels, soaps and moisturisers. There was a nespresso machine and iPad dock, and lounging area with spacious wardrobe space.
The bed was large and comfortable.
We had breakfast on the first morning in the hotel, there was a good selection of hot and cold food on offer, juices, fruit and bakery. The coffee in the restaurant was not great. The room was unbelievably hot and uncomfortable and we didn't linger.
The second night was (thankfully) less eventful than our first and we enjoyed an uninterrupted night of sleep.
The hotel is beautifully furnished and designed, ideally located and the rates on offer are very reasonable. The staff are friendly and helpful, but I would advise that they perhaps listen and act immediately when any guests call in the early hours of the morning complaining of noise, believe me, we waited as long as we could before making a call to complain.
I would stay here again but I would request a room far away from the lift if I did, that was the only blip during our short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 426 or any equivalent room on any floor outside the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello D4traveller,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow. After a bumpy start to the beginning of your stay I am happy to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing Radisson Blu and hope you will choose Radisson Blu in the future
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    549
    170
    51
    30
See reviews for
165
609
91
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

When you're visiting from overseas, and hosting someone who's on their first visit to your homeland, you want it to be just right. A convenient location for parking, shopping and sights, coupled with friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast option although service was a bit slow.

The Radisson ticked all these boxes, and after having just left a tainted three day stay at the Radisson Plaza, Oslo, it actually rescued the whole Radisson chain from our perspective.

The little Scottish treats left every night during the festive season were a homely touch.

Thank you Glasgow, you were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello Josh M,
Thank you for the excellend Tripadvisor review. We are delighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed visiting Glasgow during teh festive period. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed for two nights whilst on a business trip for a conference that was being held at the hotel (AGCAS Heads of Services) with two other colleagues.

The hotel has all the typical features of a Radisson Blu, stylish and modern interiors, warm welcome and friendly staff.

Check-in was efficient and easy and we were given all the details we required.

Rooms are very spacious and big, again decorated to a high standard and contain everything you need - drink facilities, iron and ironing board, safe, robe, slippers. Shower was nice and powerful which is of course important and some nice bathroom toiletries.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first evening, service was good and the food excellent - my colleagues had steak and I had the duck, to which we all really enjoyed and I would say reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant as were the drinks.

A large spacious lobby and bar to sit and relax, pool table also. My colleague used the pool and spa facilities and said they were very good.

Great centre location, we didn't venture out that far as conference was also at the hotel but there is a Tesco and cash point about a minute walk from hotel. also a Wetherspoons opposite and another pub on corner, plenty of other places to eat and drink nearby.

In terms of the hotel looking after the conference, all food and refreshments were well made and out on time and staff were polite and friendly.

My colleague enquired about a mobile hairdresser coming to the hotel for our evening dinner, praises to the concierge - he went out of his way and spent an hour calling round trying to find someone and then assisted her with finding a local one just around the corner and drawing a map out for her - very good service. The whole hotel did a great job of looking after everyone attending the conference.

Only one strange thing to mention was a noise when in room that sounded like tables been dragged across the floor, heard it both nights as did colleagues but we thought it must have been plumbing creaking? Wasn't loud enough to keep you awake at night so do not worry.

All in all another good stay at Radisson blu, these hotels always deliver and this one keeps it consistent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Ade888,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay overnight at the Radisson Blu after attending an event in the hotels ballroom.

If you're thinking of booking a stay here, hit the book button now. The hotel is not like any other in Glasgow. You can feel the luxury from the moment you step into the reception area.

We stayed in a business class room and it was very luxurious. The room and bathroom were good in size and had all the mod cons you could need, not to mention floor to ceiling windows. Fabulous black out blinds and curtains meant a great nights sleep was guaranteed.

Breakfast is served downstairs in the hotels Collage restaurant. What can I say, you'll wish you had all day to eat all the food that's on offer. The choice is endless and the service couldn't be faulted.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Well done Radisson!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello proceed_to_departure,
Thank you very much for the review you recently posted
It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your visit.
Your kind words will be communicated to the team, who I am sure will be as pleased as I was to hear your praise. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glagow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Glasgow. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed with very comfortable beds. We will definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello Morven H,
Thank you for the lovely review.Of all the positive points you mentioned, needless to say the most rewarding to hear is the appraisal of the staff you encountered. Customer service is always the most important part of staying in a hotel and I'm happy to hear you found us first class in this department.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson BLU Glasgow in December. Large size of room for city center hotel, quite clean, and nice amenities in the room - soaps were really nice - however one of the rooms was missing a bedside lamp which looked odd. This hotel just doesn't live up to a 5 star standards in terms of service - a good 4 star rating would be more appropriate. Long check-in/out queues were seen anytime we passed through lobby. Concierge staff appear to be difficult to find, perhaps an issue of under-staffing -however I must note that once you got to reception/spoke with concierge they were most helpful. Also pool area being privately owned and accessed through a separate entrance isn't the most appealing - opening hours are restrictive.. again not really 5 star. Bar area nice - and reasonably priced. Breakfast fine. Would stay again if available at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello diarmuidv,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great service from the moment you get here from every member of staff I have come across and the breakfast really great I can honestly recommend everything about this great hotel
Even the location is great right in the middle of Glasgow everything is within walking distance

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Xcgt,
A review like this is exactly what we are aiming for! Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.