We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Hotel, Fun Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Modern Hotel, Fun Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After staying at Radisson Blu hotels in both Iceland and Edinburgh this was by far may favorite of the three. The accommodations were top notch and the staff was very personable and efficient. My one complaint would be that while we were visiting it was very hot outside and the air conditioners in the rooms were having a hard time keeping everything cool. It took almost a full 8 hours after arriving for our room to cool to a comfortable level. I had family staying in two other rooms on the same floor who had the same issue. It doesn't help that whenever the rooms were cleaned for the day the staff turned off the air so you had to start the cooling process anew when arriving back after a day of sight seeing. However, this was more than made up for by the rooms and the overall hotel.

The upshot to this was that we spent a good deal of time in the lobby bar and were served by a great bartender named Matt. Matt was very friendly and you could clearly tell he had a passion for the drinks he was serving. Ask him to make you something and it will be great. It is always nice to be able to talk to someone from the area learn the things the guide books won't tell you.

I also loved the elevator system here and that many of the staff at the front desk wore kilts. It is also very convenient that the hop on/ hop off tour bus stops directly in front of the hotel. Ask the concierge and they can get you coupons for a discount. It would be nice if there was more than one computer to print boarding passes from as it always seemed it was occupied.

I only spent a little bit of time in Glasgow and I am already wanting to go visit again and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi JRH18,
Thanks for the excellent Tripadvisor review!
Our Atrium bar area is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed the service and drinks available. I will pass your kind words onto the team
Next time you're in Glasgow I hope we shall see you again.
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    548
    170
    50
    30
See reviews for
164
608
91
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

2 nights with two rooms for a family of five, one triple and one double. Excellent stay, rooms clean and nice, towels big and fluffy, almost too fluffy... Ate dinner one night at the Collage restaurant, wife and son had the monk fish wrapped with parma ham and both raved about it. Desserts also delish. Great location, easy 5-10 minute walk to the shops and Buchanan Street. Only hitch was the air con struggled to keep the room cool one night but it was very hot that day. Breakfasts were also good. Some TA reviews complain about the unique elevator system but I actually liked/preferred it. Best Scotland hotel experience we had on this trip out of three different hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello Mauka,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review it is lovely to read that you had a great family break at the Radisson Glasgow. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel meets all expectations one can have from this class of hotel. Plush decor, spacious & quiet rooms, nice bath, professional service. The location is very good to walk around and take in Glasgow's city centre.

The surroundings, especially near the central station can seem a bit run down, though we didn't take it as any real minus point. Parking isn't easy to find especially during weekdays but that is to be expected in a city centre hotel without its own parking garage.

Overall, this was a pleasant stay and will be happy to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the Tripadviror review. We are delighted to hear that woul enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed in this hotel 20th july room 616, i loved everything about this hotel, especially the friendly staff, angus and david in the restaurant were brilliant the meal was superb. my husband and i also used the pool which was fantastic, we will be back its in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello emmarose07,
Thank you for the lovely Tripadvisor review
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Radisson Blu Glasgow and we hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A very fresh hotel. Everything remarkable clean. Food excellent, breakfast has a huge selection to choose from. Very enjoyable weekend had by all. Staff very friendly. Room very nice and air conditioned which was needed as temperature in Glasgow hot hot hot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello MojoAberdeenshire,
Thank you for the excellent Tripadvisor review
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on 19/7/13. The hotel is in a great central location, right beside Glasgow Central Station, and close to all the shops and attractions Glasgow has to offer. The room was really nice, spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very nice, great shower and nice toiletries. Lovely big fluffy towels and bathrobes. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the late checkout time of 12 noon was great. We had drinks in the Collage Bar. Very nice atmosphere and not too pricey. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Teri S,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review- we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Radisson Blu Glasgow and hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights, staff very nice and could not do enough for you. The room was nice and clean with good air conditioning which was needed, the bed was very hard and not to my liking but on enquiring about it apparently theses were the soft ones on the 6th floor. the Wi-Fi was free and fast enough for our usage though it did slow up at peak times On the down side the seating in the room was abysmal and not what you would expect in a hotel of this standard. The restaurant was superb and I would recommend you to try it, drinks were a bit on the expensive side which is kind of daft as there is a wetherspoons right across the road. You are right next to the train station and a 10 min walk from the shops. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation returning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the Tripadvisor review
We hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Glasgow in teh near future
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.