We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - very swanky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - very swanky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here on business very recently. I was immediately very impressed with the place!!
Large open foyer with big comfortable seats and sofas, with it's own bar.

The lifts are see through!! Which I liked even though not great with heights.

The rooms are lovely. Great modern decor, soft lighting (no bright main lights). Not as comfy a bed as some but nothing to complain at. There is air con as well which is nice and I'm not sure I've come across in the UK before!

I usually like to pick a hotel in the higher end of the middle £ values when I travel personally, so this was impressive to me. (Even had Tunnock's caramel wafers instead of biscuits on the tea tray! I'm a chocoholic).
Great bathroom, nice big heavy curtains, a great plus for me with being a light sleeper - though not so much with the dark mornings at this time of year of course.
Very big double closet with dressing gowns in there ready to use.
Fully stocked mini bar including snacks, didn't take any though so didn't notice what the prices were like.

The hotel was hosting some kind of fancy 'do when we stopped there, which seemed to give it even more of an impressive look. It was a black tie 'do on the first floor - guys with tuxes and bow ties, and ladies with cocktail dresses.
They also had two guys outside twizzling fire sticks - guessing this was related to the 'do.

It is nice to sit in the bar area and watch the comings and goings as the whole front is glass (also means you can see (outside when using the lifts!), however be prepared to spend a fair whack if you want a drink (£11+ for two drinks - pint and vodka).

Breakfast was very very good, a huge buffet selection including cereals, juices, continental pastries and meats & cheeses, yogurts, porridge, cooked breakfast items, they even have (fish) specials to cook to order.
You cannot grumble at the service you receive.

Definitely worth a stay if you don't mind paying a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    548
    170
    50
    30
See reviews for
164
608
91
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

As usual I was staying on business when I was staying in this hotel. 2 stays per week. This is a nice an central hotel with good facilities and transport links.
I like the look of this hotel, it is modern and stylish. I just get the impression the have just given up caring. No time is given to return guests. Nobody takes the time to learn my name, my details are not always in the system and I get asked the same questions every time. 'Have you stayed here before?, 'have you had breakfast here before' Nobody takes the time to remember the guests. It makes for a very impersonal stay.
Also the service just seems a little impersonal, it's slow and at times a bit careless.
Some rooms are nice but the room I have now had twice, 547 is falling to bits, there is a cigarette burn in the chair, pieces missing from shower cabinet and the wardrobe door is loose. This has been like this for the two weeks I have stayed in this room, surely housekeeping notices these things. They are just not getting fixed.
On a very big plus side, the food is fantastic, breakfast and dinner are some of the best I have had in any hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel one bit, stayed with my girlfriend along with another couple for new year 2013 and what can I say, first of all the hotel was very well priced, and the service is excellent. Couldn't find a bit of dirt in the room, huge spacious room and a perfectly well equipped bathroom. Ideal location right beside the train station and within walking distance of everything in the city centre. 5* from me!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is really nice and also very nice people in the hotel and make you feel very welcome and also the location was very easy to get to and the the restaurten was beautiful and the hotel rooms where very quite and also you have a great a view from the windows and also and you could get to and from the hotel easily and also meet a lot of nice people and also the staff that are a credit to the Radisson Blu chain and the room was big light anf airy and it was a little chilly and the hotel was very nice the dinners and breakfasts were really nice i would love to go back again. thank you for you lovely and nice hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the conrner are a lot better they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for business over a weekend and three week nights. The room was really well appointed - and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was a very good buffet and again, service was excellent. The hotel is located just a short walk from the high street which was shopping heaven, as well as close by stations, malls and convenience stores. The one I have is not to turn the wrong way when you leave the hotel, or you can end up in a less than desirable area. As a female on my own I wouldn't have felt too safe not too far from the hotel. But since I didn't head the wrong way, it wasn't a problem for me. I will definitely stay here again, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel, but the location it is in is slightly down at heel. Lots of redecelopment going on around the area too, especially across from the hotel. The rooms are well appointed as you would expect. Bathrooms are hrat and the walk in showers are fab, bi bath though so no chance for a relaxing soak. Staff are great and welcoming and the main bar./ meeting area is very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a few days for a conference.
Every request and question to staff was done in a freindly manner and nothing was too much trouble. this hotel has staff that are a credit to the Radisson Blu chain.
Room was big light and airy, it was a little chilly (I'm a soft southerner) so they bought me up an extra heater and a huge warm blanket and I slept like a log.
Bar staff are great.
Food was superb.
Thank you for a great stay.
Unfortunately I didn't get too the pool as I was too busy :( next time maybe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.