We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our regular haunt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trio

Trio
286 Stonelaw Road | Burnside, Glasgow G73 3RP, Scotland
0141 647 5892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,869 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: French, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Burnside's one and only fine dining restaurant offering a variety of meals sourced and cooked from local ingredients,by award winning and Rosette standard chefsCheck our reviews on Trip Advisor,Facebook and 5pm
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our regular haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While on maternity leave I have found myself and my mother frequenting Trio at least once a week. I have found it to a be friendly, accommodating place where you can always get a chat!
The coffee is the best available in the area, but they pride themselves on their excellent food. The standard is very high. Particular favourites are the fish pie and the halloumi salad-plus they do great chunky chips.
My mother is wheat free and they always accommodate her, in fact, Scott, the Chef, makes her spelt loaves which she really enjoys and will make a wheat free cake on request.
I always have my baby with me and they are very accommodating in terms of pram, feeding etc

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and we know how important it is to make our customers feel welcome, as well as providing a good dinning experience. It was great to read your positive and complimentary report. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon. Lyn Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mexican night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this wee jem for the second time last night, for the Mexican night. Food was fabulous, althought the prawn taco was devoid of avocado puree, this did not detract from the enjoyment of the dish. Main courses, chimmy chungu, was full of beef and full of flavour. My wife had the chicken fajita, which she couldn't finish. The salsa salad which was with both main courses was bursting with flavour. The hand cut chips were crispy on the outside and soft inside, proper home made chips - fab!! Only one criticism is I don't agree with the service charge being added to the bill, I am always happy to tip good service, but I don't like restaurants being presumptuous. Will be back soon. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No rice on Mexican night and that's just the start...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited with my husband last Wednesday for their Mexican night and was sorely disappointed. Told on arrival that there was no rice (!), so it would have to be chips, mains brought to our table while we were still eating starters and food generally not as described on menu. My prawn taco cup was topped with basil pesto, not avocado puree; my chimichanga contained only a few pieces of chicken and some bland sauce (no rice of course), my husband's soup was topped with basil pesto (not very Mexican,eh?!) and the chips were greasy and soggy. I had considered asking for an extra side salad instead of chips, but glad I didn't as it consisted of three tiny pieces of yellow pepper, three tiny pieces of red onion, and yet another dollop of basil pesto. As our meal came to an end, the chef popped out through the main seating area twice to smoke and dragged the stench back in with him. Yuk! Give it a miss!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodsRGood, Manager at Trio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to our Mexican night @ Trio Gastronomique, particularly as other diners that night have given positive feedback on Trip Advisor. it was also a shame that you didn't mention your experience on the night as I am sure we could have sorted it for you. We're grateful to have your feedback and hope you will return and we will aim to provide a great (and tasty!) experience.

The Trio Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5* cooking in Glasow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was recently over in Burnside in Rutherglen on business and had an hour before I had to go elsewhere, I was hungry and I spotted a little restaurant in Stonelaw road Burnside so I thought I would give it a try and I was delighted I did. The food was absolutely lovely I had a steak cooked with prunes which sounds awful but I had tried this dish before on traveling with my husband who works with big acts in the music industry, the catering that travel with them are all first class, I was pleasantly surprised how good it was, the meat was so very tender the gravy with the prunes amazing and the puff pastry just perfect, it was served with thick home made stacked chips and they were really really tasty. I thought I would go back with my family and see if it was as good as before and it was, my children also travel over the word and are spoiled with the amazing restaurants and the catering available to them and are very fussy, but we all had a lovely meal everything we ordered was all cooked fresh on the premises. The home made cream of veg soup, The fillet steaks The ribeye and the leg of lamb were all done absolutely spot on with the best of quality of meat and last but not least my favourite The home made creme brûlée, as the family were all full up I was the only one that ordered a sweet, I had tried it the time before and it was honestly the nicest creme brûlée that I have ever tried, the only down side was I couldn't get a chance to eat it because it was so delicious they all started digging their spoons in and I never even got a second spoonful, never mind we will all order our own next time we visit and hopefully thats soon. It BYO at the moment but their licence for alcohol is passed so you will soon be able to order drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a nice evening in trio. It was Mexican night. I had a lovely red pepper and 3 bean soup followed by chilli beef burrito! My wife had a burrito also. My daughter had lovely fresh fish and chips! Go on folks give it a go!! Support an excellent local restaurant!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your evening. We really appreciate the local support. Lyn Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio also viewed

 

Been to Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.