We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Soba

Bar Soba
116-122 Byres Road | G12 8TB, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 141 357 5482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #693 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Description: The second Bar Soba restaurant in Glasgow, this Byres Road branch follows in the award winning footsteps of its Mitchell Lane sister. An Asian fusion menu is here accompanied by Bar Soba's famous cocktail menu with its classic and creative concoctions mixed up by skilled bar staff who know their Smirnoff from their Stoli and provide their service with a smile. In fact if you're a fan of Bar Soba's cocktails you're invited to learn more at one of the team's weekly masterclasses. Sushi platters, Thai curries, American style burgers and Asian broths are among the dishes on the menu, a varied selection of East/West cookery done with the same skill and flair as you've come to expect from the Bar Soba brand. Pre-club parties run from Thursday through the weekend, but whenever you visit you'll find that same upbeat, young and clubby atmosphere with great music and a chilled out vibe.
stirlingshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“so slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

went for lunch the other day.very busy,and herein lies problem.took forever to get food,over half an hour.table next to us complained to waitress.appeared to be 2 girls doing everything outside kitchen,and plainly they need more staff,and this on a tuesday.girls were pleasant ,but if you want anything you have to get up and try and catch them.what we had to eat was quite nice.hand-dryer in toilet not working,no towel or anything.visit lots of eateris for lunch in byres road,none ever had such poor service,though not waitresses fault

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi jacStirlingshire,

Thank you for your review - without comments such as your own we would not be able to strive to improve our service! I'm sorry to hear you received below-standard service on your recent visit. I am currently in the process of hiring new team members in order to combat the service issues you have raised. I have also changed the layout of our rotas to ensure that there will always be enough staff to cover busy periods, even on early-week lunchtimes. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to redeem ourselves and we can show you how great the Soba Standard is!

Kind regards,

Faye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    26
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Tasty food, patchy service despite not being busy at lunchtime but a good find on Byres Road. A range of south east Asian inspired food - and between us we had an excellent selection of starters and main dishes

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, General Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Pinotnoir61 (nice name, by the way!),

Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your food! We are currently recruiting in order to combat your comments regarding service, and I hope that you will be back in the future to give us the opportunity to show you how great we can be.

Kind regards,

Faye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Asian delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited on a Sunday afternoon with my wife and her family and we struggled to find a table for four as most were occupied by couples. I mention this as it represents poor management/service. They should have been directed to the many tables for two.

In fact poor service was a feature of the dining experience.

That said, the food was excellent. We shared a super mixed platter of starters and I would recommend the Balineese beef curry. Fabulous.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to Bar Soba, we really do appreciate all feedback. We try and allow people to sit where they prefer, if quiet, but I understand how this can become frustrating when it starts to get busy. We have taken this into consideration, and have started to ask couples to sit at tables for two. We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your food, our sharing platter is a great way to have a taster of what starters we have to offer and we are able to make it vegetarian if required. If you could email and let us know any other comments of why you think the service was poor on this occasion, that would be very helpful to improve for other’s future dining experience, joe@barsoba.co.uk.
Best,
Pat West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Avoid if you can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place was awful. Very rude clientele and poor music! Girl who worked there was extremely rude. We left without ordering food! It is Trying too hard to be cool and getting confused .

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Bar Soba. We value all comments made to us, good and bad, and I'm sorry that you felt your experience was not up to standard. Normally our clientele is quite varied; with students, west enders and business folk alike. We have djs playing every Wednesday – Sunday from 9pm in the bar, with an eclectic varied mix of music. Through the day and on a Monday and Tuesday, we go with what the staff feel like, maybe a bit of prince, toots and the maytals, or disco. If the bar isn’t too busy and your requests aren’t anything too poppy (no Bieber or dubstep, please) then we would be happy (if we are able) to change to a playlist you might prefer. Unfortunately, on the day you came in, we were extremely busy and under staffed, due to unforeseen circumstances. We are managing that to make sure we aren’t caught out like that again. If you could send us any more details or comments of your visit, we would be greatful to hear them. Please email joe@barsoba.co.uk
Best,
Pat West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Gave this place a try as it looked interesting and had a great lunch. Crab cakes were brilliant. Would also recommend the twice cooked pork. Restaurant was fairly busy but service was excellent. We really enjoyed it and would definitely go back. Hopefully on a warmer day as our only gripe was that it was a bit chilly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for reviewing your recent trip to Bar Soba! We're really glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service.
Sorry to hear that you were cold whilst you were here. In the summer our outside seating area is very popular, and we open our front windows right out onto the street!

Thanks again,

Bar Soba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Soba also viewed

 

Been to Bar Soba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Soba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.