We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Soba

Bar Soba
116-122 Byres Road | G12 8TB, Glasgow, Scotland
+44 141 357 5482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #747 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food
Description: The second Bar Soba restaurant in Glasgow, this Byres Road branch follows in the award winning footsteps of its Mitchell Lane sister. An Asian fusion menu is here accompanied by Bar Soba's famous cocktail menu with its classic and creative concoctions mixed up by skilled bar staff who know their Smirnoff from their Stoli and provide their service with a smile. In fact if you're a fan of Bar Soba's cocktails you're invited to learn more at one of the team's weekly masterclasses. Sushi platters, Thai curries, American style burgers and Asian broths are among the dishes on the menu, a varied selection of East/West cookery done with the same skill and flair as you've come to expect from the Bar Soba brand. Pre-club parties run from Thursday through the weekend, but whenever you visit you'll find that same upbeat, young and clubby atmosphere with great music and a chilled out vibe.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Modern asian style restaurant with a really funky interior. The food is excellent with good portion sizes. Cheap drinks and 2 for 1 on main meals mean this place is perfect for students. They played great music when I was in. Staff were very friendly with prompt service provided.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on your experience at Bar Soba, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and the portion size, remember, if you can’t finish the meal, you can ask a member of staff to pack it away for you for later! Our staff take pride in what they do, so they’ll be happy to know you enjoyed the experience.
We hope to see you again soon,

Pat West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    26
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place, great value, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

i have been to soba several times and i have enjoyed it every one of them.
the menu as large and varied and the portions are massive. the quirky decorations makes it really cool inside.

the food is delicious! i had singapore noodles this time and loved them! i am a bit of a noodle expert if i do say so myself! the staff are friendly but a bit awakard and dont seem to have much to do but you can get their attention easily

being in the west end the cocktails are expensive if they offered a student discount on them too, i am sure i would have sampled them, unfortuatly not =)

will contiune to come here for the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoy our food; we've just recently updated our menu and added a few delicious new dishes, and also tweaked and improved some of our classics, so there should be plenty of choice for you the next time we see you!
As for a student discount on cocktails, we have our famous Apple & Ginger Mojito on promo Sun-Wednesday for only £3, and running Thursday-Saturday we have 5 select cocktails for only £5 each, so maybe you can get that extra drink next time you're in!

Thanks again,

Bar Soba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food but restaurant needs a bit of a make over!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was nice. We had the mixed platter for starters. The tikis were nice as we're the satay skewers. Crab cakes were gorgeous. Overall food and service were really good. The only down point was the restaurant itself. Only one toilet and the tiles on the floor were loose. Bin was overflowing with paper towels and generally was just dirty. The decor in the restaurant was ok but the tables and chairs are awful. Chairs rock hard and uncomfortable. Tables were unsteady uneven meaning drinks were at time perilously close to spilling. The place was too cold too!

Overall not a bad night out. Food good but the place itself let it down.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and found the service to be to a good standard.
I am, however, sorry you felt the place the restaurant itself was a let-down. We try our best to check the toilets a minimum of once an hour during service, however we have clearly managed to meet our own standards on this occasion. In light of your comments, we have been conducting maintenance checks lately and have got some minor work scheduled in soon to bring our restaurant back up to the levels expected. This will include new seats for the restaurant and to get the bathroom re-tiled.
We do have separate male and female bathrooms which are located in the main bar area connected to the restaurant through the back corridor.

I hope you give us another chance in the future and get a chance to see how good we really can be.

Thanks,

Bar Soba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went for dinner during the week and had a great meal! After reading some dissapointing reviews I was pleasantly surprise with the good food and service in Bar Soba. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was tasty and reasonably priced, especially as we are students and got the 241 deal which is on during the week. Also enjoyed the music and overally there was a really good atmosphere. Despite not being a smoker I also noticed there was outdoor seating with litle blankets outside to keep customers warm. Thought this was a nice personal touch. Will be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed the food and music!
We're very proud of our outside area and plan to make some seasonal changes to it as we come into spring and summer... We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bar Soba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Called in for lunch and ordered a main meal each, with drinks. The drinks menu looked good, and any bar with draft Cobra scores a plus.
However, the food was very average. Having ordered the Nasi goreng (£10.95) and the Penang sea food broth (£12.95) we found them both very poor value for the price that was paid.

The sate, which came with the goreng was over cooked, and had the texture of dry cardboard. It was covered in a thick peanut sauce, which Did not make it any more palatable. The rice itself had very little flavour


The sea food broth had a good mixture of fish, including salmon, tuna, prawns and mussels. However, the mussels were exceedingly strong tasting and though the broth itself was tasty, the mussels were too strong for it, and that was the overall impression of the dish.

The service was good considering the restaurant was full. However, will not be rushing back there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Bar Soba. We value all comments made to us, good and bad, and I'm sorry to learn that you felt your experience was not up to standard.
We have a lunch deal between 12pm and 3pm Monday - Friday which offers starters at £3.95, mains at £7.95 and 2 courses for £9.95 (Plus supplements on some dishes), which most people find to be of great value.
I am sorry that you found your Nasi Goreng to be be off the mark. We have recently brought out a new menu which has had some fantastic new dishes added, and some of our classics updated; including the Nasi Goreng. I really hope you give us another chance and come back in to try the new and improved version!
I'm sorry to hear you found the mussels to be too strong tasting. We have also added some new seafood dishes to our menu including a Kimchee broth and a Jungle curry which are well spiced and compliment the seafood very well. Langoustine has also been added as part of the seafood selection.
Again, I hope you come back in and give our new and improved menu a try so we can show you how good we can really be!

Bar Soba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Soba also viewed

 

Been to Bar Soba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Soba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.