We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Film Theatre

Glasgow Film Theatre
12 Rose Street, Glasgow G3 6RB, Scotland
+44 141 332 6535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 Fun & Games in Glasgow
Attraction details
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I read the last review and don't understand how the GFT can get a bad review from anyone.
Obviously I am biased, I was taken here some 30+ years ago by my school and have been a regular visitor since. I have seen some bad films in my time but in the main it has been a pleasure.
Is the GFT overstretching themselves by trying to offer unsuitable performances? Torture? Lies? Ashamed? Exceptionally drunk? Inappropriae patrons? All this for a 9 year old.

Is Natalie M exaggerating. She is obviously unhappy. Has she a right to be?

My experience is the absolute opposite. I would have no problems taking anyone to the GFT. A GEM.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It's A Wonderful Life? More like an afternoon showing of torture. As my nine year old son put it, "You'd never get behaviour or language like that in the Showcase!" I couldn't agree more, GFT should be ashamed, a fun family afternoon was ruined be exceptionally drunk and inappropriate patrons who threatened to 'rag doll' each other (putting it politely). The clinking of glasses and the popping of corks set the scene. Will never return as my children don't need to be subjected to this behaviour from 'mature' adults. Beautiful film ruined.

In addition, gents toilets out of order. Accompanying a disabled relative made all the more challenging due to the fact that an inadequate lock on disabled toilet door easily opened from the outside ... Dignity out the window.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For real movie goers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I've been visiting the GFT since the 60's, it was the Cosmo back then. They have films of a more minority interest in a really nice cinema setting. In fact as we speak they're adding a third cinema. What I like about the GFT is that you can enjoy a film without the usual cinema patrons munching into hamburgers and popcorn. Cinemas are for watching and enjoying films, restaurants are for eating! Visit the GFT soon.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We love this cinema.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have been going to Glasgow Film Theatre since it was the Cosmo and love it's Art Deco feel and interesting choice of films. Now there are National Theatre productions that we couldn't possible get to see otherwise. We are looking forward to the new Cinema 3 opening. Congratulations to the volunteer staff - keen film fans- who help to keep this independent cinema going. Good to see Autism friendly and baby friendly films too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Braw place that beats Odean or Cineworld EVERY time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ive been here so many times and it impresses me and those that I go with every time.

Went for the Zombie fest last year and had a Q&A session with the leading actors for both movies. It was such a nice touch to a brilliant evening.

Staff are always very friendly...prices are the best in town, you get the authentic movie experience (drawn curtains, snack box waitresses) and the old cinema reel noise...aaahhhhhh!

Folks, check it out, it's a great experience and better than any mainstream cinema out there in my opionion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasgow Film Theatre also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Glasgow Film Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Film Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.