We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Court Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Court Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hampton Court Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   230 Renfrew Street | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (Formerly Hampton Court Hotel) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to no availability at the usual hotels we stay at while in glasgow. While the location was quite close to the centre, our room was a bit of a let down. Having no window was the biggest problem, I think this should be stated in the room description and be cheaper than the other rooms. Our friends had 2 double beds and 2 windows so they must have got ours ;) we re not normally fussy but waking up hungover in a room with no window wasnt ideal. The room did smell a bit of smoke as well which was off putting. The staff were friendly enough but seemed a bit disorganised when we checked in. We didnt make it in time for breakfast so cannot comment. If your just looking for a bed for the night and get it for cheap then its not too bad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    17
    6
    16
See reviews for
11
27
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Sense of Deja vu with this one; very similar to the Rennie MacIntosh hotel next door.
For the price hard to find a lot to fault. An older property but reasonably decorated. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean shared bathroom. Good breakfast.
The room I was in had a great view but I'm not so sure about security as the lock on the room looked decidedly insecure.
Virtually in the heart of the City perfect at the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having read various reviews I expected more than this Guesthouse has to offer. Firstly, its very very basic. Whilst being clean and the owners acceptably hospitable, for £90 a night it falls well short in a few areas - it is an old converted house, and feels like student accommodation. My room was not ensuite, which for this price I expected, but my own fault did not check. The room has a basic sink with push taps that stay on for a few seconds, the tea and coffee facilities are a couple of tea bags and instant coffee sachets on a tray, the door lets light in from the hallway so unfortunately that also means noise. I usually sleep well however any sound from the rest of the building woke me each hour, including toilets flushing and other people's water down the sink causing mine to bubble. Breakfast I'm afraid was dire. Instant coffee, rusk sausages and plastic bread. Whilst the place is clean, it's tired. Had this been £50 - £60 per night I would have written a very different review. But because of its price, and its location, a good 15 walk from the station I'm afraid I can't offer it more than I have above. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived at the Hotel after a 15 minute walk from the coach station. Immediately was made welcome. When I booked there were no single room en suites available, so I asked if any had become available when I arrived, Unfortunately there had been no cancellations but the Hotel had upgraded me to a larger Twin Room. With only 2 rooms on my floor and one bathroom it caused no problem, and the other room was not occupied on the first of my 2 night stay. Room was clean and bed comfy, colour tv , tea and coffee making facilities with ample supplies, what more could you ask for. Breakfast was excellent in a nice and bright breakfast room, Full choice of cooked breakfast any style of egg you required, lots of cereal, and fruit juices. Even HP brown sauce. Close to the main shopping area and an abundance of bars within a 5 minute walk.. Would I stay here again... without a doubt a fantastic find and value second to none

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staff responded to requests - they managed to find me a quiet room (room 8 must be the quietest in central Glasgow) and found a place for me to store my bike securely indoors. The room was basic - bed, TV, coffee making facilities, en suite toilet and shower i.e. all that was needed as a place to stay while enjoying Glasgow. Despite being so quiet just 100 metres downhill there are innumerable bars, nightclubs and eateries, while just along Renfrew Street is the famous Glasgow School of Art. Cowcaddens tube is 10 minutes walk away and the city centre just a mile away. Breakfast was choice of cereals, tea/ coffee and toast, then I had the full English, but cooked vegetarian options were available. All served to an almost restaurant standard by the attentive staff in a spacious dining area. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very, very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It has been a pleasure to stay at Hampton Court Guest House with its convenient location just next to city centre and sub-way station. As an international student and putting alone, felt as if staying at my own home here.
The room pictures and facilities shown on its website are very much actual. The elegantly furnished, spacious and brightly lit rooms provides all modern amenities (eg. high speed wifi connectivity, ensuite shower/ bathroom) in a hygienic environment. Round the clock reception with cctv security and always smiling hospitable staff ready to go an extra mile to provide any assistance/local information have contributed to a comfortable stay making me feel safe and secure. Its extremely competitive charges are inclusive of the fantastic breakfast with lots of varieties (English/ Scottish/ Vegan).
I thank the owners and staff-members for providing such fabulous & exceptional service, while recommending staying at Hampton Court Guest House to anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were looking for a cheap hotel room for 4 on the night before the a Great Scottish Run, and that's exactly what we got. Room very basic, but clean, however we spent very little time in it. £90 for B&B. Chap at the check in was on the phone when we arrived and never noticed we were there... Not really a great problem as we dumped our bags and went out.
Lad who was serving breakfast was chirpy and there was plenty to eat. Avoid the mushrooms - tinned and cold!
Would I stay there again? Yes, if all I needed was a basic room and breakfast very close to the centre (10 minute walk).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Court Guesthouse

Address: 230 Renfrew Street | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (Formerly Hampton Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampton Court Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Court Guest House is situated in the heart of the city centre. The guest house has been awarded 2 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board, With FREE WIFI Access, 24 hour reception, continental or Scottish Breakfast and open all year round. We are a Family Run Guest House here to help you make the Most of your Trip whether it be for Business, pleasure, Shopping, Sightseeing or Just to Get away from it all for the weekend. It is a traditional town house building, just a stones throw away from many of the main attractions of Glasgow. The guest house is close to all the main amenities, attractions, theatres, cinemas, pubs, clubs, Hampden Park, SECC, ABC, Glasgow Science Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Transport Museum, Kings Theatre, Royal Concert Hall also located on the same street as the Famous Glasgow School of Art and various major shopping centres. Furthermore, a great number of restaurants offering a variety of cuisines are only a short stroll away. The excellent location of the guest house ensures that there are reliable and frequent transport links to and from the Glasgow and Prestwick Airport. In addition, the Buchanan Bus Station, Queen Street Station and Central Station are all less than a mile, making this guest house an excellent choice for those on business and likewise, those visiting Glasgow in order to soak in the ambience of the city.We offer excellent, competitive prices all year round as well as a comfortable stay with friendly staff available at all times should you require any assistance.We also have Hair dryers , extra Blankets irons and pillows available for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Court Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Hampton Court Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Court Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.