We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price but below standard.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charing Cross House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charing Cross House to your Saves list
Charing Cross House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   310 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6UW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Glasgow B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget price but below standard.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

DON'T STAY, find other alternatives in Renfrew street. Plenty of options. I had to stay for two days, must say not very clean. However I paid 54 pounds for two nights don't think it was worth it. Side tables where stained with some sticky stuff coffee or something. Cleanliness was the bummer, rest of the facilities like bathroom( stayed in single room with bathroom), heating, wifi was fine not very good

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    40
    20
    52
See reviews for
14
51
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Staff: friendly and seem to do their job well.

Room: booked double en-suite but were given twin en-suite. Reception staff very apologetic but to be honest this wasn't a huge problem for us. Room itself was clean with fresh, possibly newly decorated en-suite. Decor was a bit dated but we weren't in Glasgow to admire the wallpaper of a B&B! Certainly no damp/mould in our room as other reviewers have experienced. Basic but comfortable.

Location: A little bit outside the hustle & bustle of city centre but a stone's throw from Sauchiehall Street and situated on a fairly quiet street.

Price: We paid £46 for one night which I think is fair.

Room Tip: Request en-suite if possible otherwise you need to share a bathroom with other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy, fife
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here just recently and the place is absolutely shocking.....luckily enough I never had to spend much time in the room!!! Paper was falling of the walls, mould, damp all over it stale smell and well dated......Cheap price right enough but was glad to get out, never stayed in anywhere as bad as this in my life........!!!!

Room Tip: Top TIP- Book somewhwere else or get bitten by flees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

my partner and myself stayed here as we had a night out in glasgow.

The website does not show what it is really like!!

Also it said on street parking but NEVER SAID we needed TO PAY! (lucky for us it was just £4) (we ended up parking just round the corner from the hotel and got flour all over our car lol welcome to glasgow!!)

The bed was small, sheets and towels seemed clean, bathroom very small with some mould, lighting was poor, floor could of done with a hoover and our window did not shut.

breakfast was good. The size was not to big nor small. lots to choose from. the waitresses did seem to over whelm you with oppstions but seemed very nice!!

Some staff seemed alright while others looks and acted liked they could not wait to get out of there which was not a grate first impression!!

outside looks really run down

but over all it was fine but i would rather pay that bit more for some where a bit nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place was so bad we didn't stay. Still waiting to find out it we'll get our money back or file a dispute with the credit card company. The room was dirty, the furniture was in disrepair, the bathroom was tiny with mold in the shower. And, the parking was awful. We'd asked for a double bed and got two twins and we booked the room months in advance.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a friend last minute based solely on price. (luckily my hotel was down the road and nice and clean) - I am not by any means a picky customer, but this was a Joke!.

However I went with my friend to check her in and this hotel is a Dump!!! On arrival the receptionist tried to charge me again, and when I challenged this (saying I had already paid) she did not believe me. I had to get my iPhone out and produce my digital banking app to prove the transaction!!

The room stunk of mildewy/damp smell! The duvet was damp.there were stains on the walls and I had to leave due to the overwhelming smell. My friend told me the mattress was like sleeping on a metal grate and she probably would have got a better night sleep on the floor (I'd she dared to lay her head down on it) the toilets and showers are communal and not at all clean- basically STAY AWAY unless your really really really desperate

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

A late check which went fine, no frills. Had to humph the suitcase up 3 long flights and then entered the most disappointing room I've stayed in.
Hands down the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in although the sheets were clean I didn't like getting into the bed! (noticed an old matress out the back...hopefully the one I slept on is next for replacement!!) So glad it was only one night.
The room was cold, old and just very unwelcoming....not a nice atmosphere. More effort put into the shared bathroom but just average, no more.
The only +ve I can mention is the breakfast. Full Scottish breakfast, hot and prompt.
When checking out I was shocked by all the tripping hazards left scattered by the room maids on the stairs and landings. Very dangerous.
Summed up...it might be cheap but def better choice on the same street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charing Cross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charing Cross House

Address: 310 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charing Cross House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Glasgow, just metres from the city's Charing Cross railway station, this guest house offers affordable accommodation with a cooked breakfast included in the price. Close to the very heart of the city centre, the Charing Cross Guest House has a great location for visiting Glasgow. Junction 18 of the M8 motorway is just metres away, offering easy access to all of the region's major roads. Glasgow's Charing Cross railway station is within easy walking distance. All that Glasgow has to offer is within easy reach, including shops, attractions and nightlife. A range of accommodation is available to suit the needs and budget of any traveller, including rooms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A generous full cooked Scottish breakfast is included in the price and is available from 07:15 to 09:00 every day. Whatever you have planned, the generous and tasty full traditional Scottish breakfast is a great way to start your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charing Cross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charing Cross House Hotel Glasgow
Charing Cross Hotel
Charing Cross Glasgow
Charing Cross House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charing Cross House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.