We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Thomson Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Thomson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Dublin
1 review
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Always stay here when in Glasgow and has never let me down.Great location,good comfortable rooms and a lovely buffet breakfast in the morning.Got a tuesday night twin room for 2 for 58 euro.Great price...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    406
    244
    111
    106
See reviews for
118
398
102
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

As travelling to Glasgow for an interview, my boyfriend and I thought it would be nice to stay for a couple of days to see the sights. As we knew we'd be out and about most of the time, we just wanted somewhere comfortable and cheap!

Our stay cost a grand total of £88 for 2 nights including breakfast.
The staff were very welcoming and incredibly friendly (like everbody else we met in the city!).
The room was basic but comfortable and clean with new biscuits each morning and bottled water (and the standard tea and coffee).
Beds were comfy and we weren't woken at all throughout the night by any outside activity.
Breakfast was a fairly basic buffet with cereals, toast and a hot option but certainly enough to keep you going. Potato cakes were delicious!

If wanting a central location this hotel is perfect. Situated on Argyle street just a stones throw from the station, we were in the prime location for restuarants, shopping, pubs and the tour bus!

If looking for a friendly, comfortable bargain, we recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

my friend and i spent a night in this hotel on 17th november as we were going xmas shopping well what good value for money the room was lovely staff friendly and the breakfast was really nice set us up for the day with agood selection to choose from we hope we will be back in the future thank you staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great hotel, our second stay here and brilliant value for money, lovely big rooms and comfy beds, great location near the station and shopping centre and easy access to SECC. Great buffet breakfast included in theprice

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do get road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff, gud value got 2 rooms for 3 ppl bed &breakfast for 250€. Only thing is check out is 10.30 and bar doesnt open until 6pm but overall great hotel ideal for shopping trips on argyle street so 5 min walk from the shops and central station!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Superb location, just a shame about the quality of the rooms. The rooms had adjoining doors and we were unlucky enough to have loud neighbours drinking and chatting until 2am. We requested another room at reception and all they offered us was the room on the other side of our noisy neighbours. Not really resolving the problem. Budget hotel so expectations were not high, but it would have been nice to get a good nights sleep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here with friends for one night, we arrived too early for check in but were able to leave our bags in the left luggage room which was very secure and left us in no hesitation about leaving our cases, when we did check in and found our room we were very pleasantly surprised the room was very large and had 3 single beds in it, the bathroom was very big also plenty of room for the 3 us, having tea, coffee and water in the room was an added bonus for the morning. Breakfast was excellent in the morning the on,y downside was queue for making toast we just avoided this everything else was excellent plenty of choice will definitely return, excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Thomson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.