We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Thomson Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Thomson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Worked for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

i needed somewhere nr to the station, and this is perfectly placed. I was given one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was more than adequate for one night. I thought it was good value for money, and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    358
    210
    99
    97
See reviews for
105
340
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in an area which may be regenerated one day, but until then it is in a run down part of town. The beds are clean but there is little attention to detail with the refurbishment of the building. My bathroom had no shaver socket and the finish was generally poor, as was the water supply which made showering difficult. Small things like lamps not working and wardrobe doors being crooked for the want of adjustment give an overall feeling that it is being run on the cheap.

There is no air conditioning and there is only one tiny lift which takes so long you could have walked it quicker.

The buffet style breakfast is quite good but you get the feeling you are being rushed through as the clearing up begins before breakfast is over.

The bar is rarely attended and has all the atmosphere of an airport terminal at night. All in all very disappointing so don't be fooled by the photographs . . . the camera can lie!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As it was my first trip to Glasgow I wanted a hotel near to Central Station, this hotel is only 200 metres away so was ideal. Check in was quick and easy. The bathroom was small with a shower cubicle rather than an overbath shower which I do not like anyway so was quite happy with that. Although I only booked a single room I was given a double which had a flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities, an iron and ironing board. Free Wifi is available in all areas of the hotel. I am not a lover of buffet breakfasts so am always biased against them but the food was edible. The city tour buses stop across the road and also the bus to Balloch. There are a number of bars withina ten minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week, and I have to say, it's probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The beds are very uncomfortable, the shower was something similar to what you may find in a shady swimhall, and the rooms are very poorly soundproof.

What annoyed me the most was the staff! They were very rude, to the point when I walked past the reception and said "Hello", they didn't even bother to say hello back.

I know for sure that I will never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The double room was tiny with grubby walls and dirty windows, not a very pleasant site. very basic, to the point it felt more like a hostel than a hotel. We attended the bar to find that there was no barman and that the bar consisted of a cupboard with what looked like supermarket bought booze. Each time we wanted to order a drink we had to go to reception and ask for the very unpleasant barman to serve us. If I had to guess I would say that this place was run and owned by children who were taking advantage of the parents being away. Would never return again, I would rather pay a little extra and have a comfortable stay. If you are thinking about this hotel, I would urge you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Have stayed here several times and while it's not the height of elegance and sophistication it is a great value, clean and convenient city centre hotel. The rooms in the new wing are on par with a modern travel lodge, some of the older rooms are a bit basic looking but have all you need for a comfortable nights stay. Tea, coffee, biscuits, mineral water all provided and good cooked buffet breakfast from £49 per room for two people! Amazing value. Very polite, attentive staff and discounted parking in nearby carpark. The many pictures dotted around the hotel are part of the quirky side to this hotel - quite an eclectic and somewhat odd collection. The small lift is also not at all up to the job for a hotel of this size but that's a minor gripe. Having stayed several other Glasgow hotels we keep coming back to the Alexander Thomson because it's such great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie W.Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had two very good one night stays during our recent visit to Scotland - great place to crash out in after long flight. Also close to Central Station (but not Queen St Station where train to Oban etc leaves from) and to main shopping precinct.

Room Tip: Some people complained about noise from pubs in area, but we slept soundly enough to not be disturbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Thomson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.