We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Thomson Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Thomson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very central, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, and the staff are always helpful, breakfast is fine, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Not much more to say really. Will go again if I need to be in that part of Glasgow, near Argyll st. I mean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    358
    210
    99
    97
See reviews for
105
340
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

stayed here in march 2013
we went to see the specials and arrived at this hotel for 3 pm there carpart is a five minute drive 10 minutes walk and if you go into the hotel and get a map for it its easy to find
very central location
its great that they have smoking rooms i appreciated that
decor could do with a little updating bed was comfy very clean nice bathroom
worn out net curtains and not a great view but i wasnt there to look out the window
breakfast was 5 star and dining room was lovely
all in all i would recommend this hotel we enjoyed our stay here
value for money and would stay here again we i go back to glasgow :)
very happy customer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlaar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great hotel for you're visits to Glasgow,near the station,pubs,shops.The rooms are clean and the bathroom is spacious. In the evening you can relax in the bar of the hotel,the prices there are cheaper then in the pubs in town. Breakfast is in buffet and there is a lot to choose of. I certainly will come back to this hotel when i visit Glasgow again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swieqi malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very central hotel with clean rooms and a very generous breakfast. Friendly staff. Central station is only around 200 metres away with lots of shops and bars in the area. The rooms look good inside and are kept very clean. Common parts such as corridors could do with a face lift but surely are not a reason for anyone not to stay at this hotel if value for money is a priority.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I chose the hotel on the basis of the reviews here and I made the right choice.The location is great, close to the station. The staff -very polite and helpful, the room was nice and clean. You can walk pretty much everywhere you want. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have never been disappointed. This is supposed to be a budget hotel and yet the rooms and service are really excellent. Comfortable, clean and better than you would ever expect. On top of this the breakfasts are great with lots of choice and as much as you want. Being so close to the rail station and main shopping area It is in a convenient location. I was really surprised at the modest price for rooms but this hotel is just simply great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone. When I go to Glasgow I will never stay anywhere else . I am a very discerning traveller so believe me if this place wasn't up to scratch , I would never recommend it the way I do.

Room Tip: Don't worry about which floor you are on as there is an excellent lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The best thing is their localisation just few steps from Railway/Busstation and close to the center. There is a lot of bars, cafes and restaurants in the nearby. The fornt desk staff were polite and friendly. My room was quite spacious and clean, but a little bit outdated. The bathroom wasn't in great shape too. In there night it was noisy. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Thomson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.