We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Thomson Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Thomson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel was excellent value for money - 49 pound and that was breakfast included for my husband and I. Room was spacious and so was bathroom. Complimentary tea,coffee and also bottles of water. Good buffet breakfast. Hotel is only a couple of minutes from Central station. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    358
    210
    99
    97
See reviews for
105
340
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked this through a late bookings website. The price was very economical but at what price? I called before arriving and was advised that we could park at any Q car park for discounted 24 hr car parking. We found one at Waterloo Street - but on check in was told they didn't have an agreement with this car park. The reception area was odd looking, no instructions about breakfast the next day, or details about the residents lounge. Got in a rickety lift to our room. The corridors of doors with metal numbers on them gave us a clue that it perhaps wasn't the best of hotels. To be fair, our room was spacious with an en-suite bathroom. I pulled my quilt down to find an "odd" brown stain on my duvet. I turned it the other way and put this to the bottom of the bed. The bathroom sink wasn't particularly clean - and the small dod of dried out poo on the floor next to the toilet was stomach churning. On the plus side, the room was very well equipped. It had an iron, an ironing board, hairdryer, decent coffee, tea bags, bottled water - a real effort. So why go to that effort and yet not have the room clean? Local taxi drivers told us that they were really trying to make an effort to upgrade the hotel over the last while and I wish them well in doing this. The long and short of it was we didn't feel safe - yes it was a bit noisy at night but you have to expect that right in the middle of a city. To be honest, we put out chair against the door at night and decided just to leave as early as possible in the morning - and find a Costa for breakfast. They are trying but at any price, we'll not be back. Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and got more than I expected for the price paid. Great central location, rooms small but clean, buffet breakfast OK. Free wifi a great help. This hotel was excellent value for money, if you need a fresh latte head across the road to the overpriced alternative!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. It's a city centre hotel which is cheap, clean & handy. If your on a budget this is the place to stay. The rooms are clean but there isn't much room at the end of the bed to get past!! The buffet breakfast is another plus. The only query is why is there Chips on the breakfast servery?? I'll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Superb location close to the central station a short hop to the city centre. Rooms are a good size and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. If you have a room facing the road you do get noise at night but I guess that's the trade off with a central location.Great big breakfast to set you up for a day sightseeing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was the fairest Hotel in Scotland. The location is very close to Central Station in Glasgow. The price was great 44 pounds/ night/ double room and the breakfast is a buffet so if you want more from something than you can have it. The room was great, the view was towards Radisson Blu on the othe side of the street. The voice in the elevator is annoying but except that everything is alright at this place.

Room Tip: 5th floor with a view on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location, good value for money. Excellent choice for sightseeing as it is very easily reachable and very central. Hop-on hop off bus stops just in front of the hotel and there are many pubs and restaurants, as well as shopping facilities nearby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Thomson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.