We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alexander Thomson Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Thomson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 - 322 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is excellently located next to central station Ok so not exactly the best hotel I've stayed in but hey for 75 quid including breakfast for a family room I shared with my two friends it was great value. Staff were rhelpful and friendly The room was clean and had everything we needed. The self service breakfast ok -plenty of choice but they really need to invest in some new toasters as the ones available took an age to toast the bread. Would reccomend as a budget hotel right in the centre of Glasgow

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    335
    198
    92
    92
See reviews for
102
316
82
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dearham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is brilliant; a minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station and near to shops and bars (also only 10mins walk from O2 arena which was the purpose of our trip).
The hotel itself was generally clean but if you looked too hard you might see that the curtains etc all needed a bit of a scrub... So we just didn't look to hard! The bedding etc was clean and the room was warm, that was pretty much all we wanted as it was a low budget trip.
The breakfast in the morning was very good and had lots of choice.
A good choice for a cheaper night without sacrificing location.. . However if you want to spend a little more or are expecting great quality you might be better off at the Radisson Blu across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As a guide line, I review hotels on a like for like basis, i.e. I don't grade a 2 star on 5 star expectations. That said, the Alexander Thomson was a tricky one. It's a good budget hotel but the rating will very much depend on whether your room is in the re-furbished wing or not. I went with my two sisters; they had a twin room in the re-furbished wing, mine was in the old. My room was OK. Good sized, comfortable double bed and huge, albeit sparsely furnished, bathroom. It was clean and fairly quiet as it was at the back of the hotel. However, the hot and cold water supplies to the mixer tap were the wrong way round which was a bit of a shock during my first shower. The windows would not close properly (uvpc double glazed) and appeared to have a faulty mechanism. Decor was a bit slapdash in that an attempt at painting and tiling had been made but it wouldn't get an A in a test. My sisters' twin room was very much nicer. Lovely double shower, nicely decorated with nice furnishings and new carpet. That said, both rooms had tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, decent hairdryer and free WiFi. Towels were clean each day although a bit small. They would probably give it a 4 rating.

The public areas of the hotel were pleasant. A small but impressive reception area with grand staircase leading to the first floor where the breakfast room, bar and lounge were. These rooms are magnificent and, if tables were laid for silver service, you could easily think you were in a much higher graded hotel. The lounge is particularly comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast (included) is good Scottish fare with cereals, variety of cooked food: eggs, beans, hash browns, bacon, tomato, mushrooms, Scottish pancakes and sausages. The fried eggs always came well done but you can ask for scrambled. In addition, there were juices, tea and coffee, croissants, toasty and small muffins. There was tinned fruit and yoghurt but I really missed having fresh fruit. A quick visit to the nearby supermarket fixed this.

The location of this hotel is its real claim to fame being just a few minutes walk west of Glasgow Central. Trains from Euston take 4hr 20 so a no brainer really for getting there. This location also puts it within walking distance of many of the main attractions although I should say that we are good walkers and quite happy to do a mile or so. Public transport is good if you don't fancy the walk.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and I would stay there again now that I know which rooms to ask for. It's very good value.

Room Tip: An even numbered room 20 and above on each floor, i.e. 220, 320, 420 upwards. Even numbers are at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Hotel was very Centraly located for everything, only 5 minutes walk (with cases) from Glasgow Central station. The hotel room was large clean and warm, the bathroom had everything you need, there was tea / coffee making facilities along with bottled water and biscuits. The breakfast was self service but had everything you would want, full english, cereals, breads, fruit, coissants etc etc.
Overall a good priced central hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is a little old and needs immediately renovation. Room was ok but I wasn’t feel there comfortable due to lots of old equipment. But there was one very big plus – the restaurant, which offered very tasty breakfast, wonderful Scottish food. The night wasn’t perfect but the morning was amazing with the big selection of different dishes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming member of staff. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, very central, a close walk from the Queen Street train station. The decor of the hotel was lovely, traditional but with modern touches. Our double room was a great size, high ceilings and a very clean en suite bathroom. A modern plasma screen TV in the rooms with plenty of channels to choose from. We didn't hear much noise from traffic outside, we were on the top floor, but even if we did that's what is to be expected from a hotel in the city centre. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best breakfasts I've ever had such a variety of food to choose from, and the staff in the breakfast room were very welcoming. There is also a lovely cosy bar in the hotel which is open until the wee hours which has a log fire. If you book this hotel on a last minute budget website and get a room for a good price, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ideal for Central station and all Glasgow City attractions. The hotel entrance although not very impressive from the outside is ideal for the traveller on a budget. Reception is a llittle basic but adequate. Rooms although basic are very clean and comfortable. This was my second visit to this hotel this year and althoughi In need of some updating and minor repairs in certain areas I had a couple of very comfortable nights. Breakfast as to be expected but a good start to the day. The breakfast room and the bar is very impressive and shows a style and elegance of days gone by. Staff I found to be friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant place to stay whether on business or pleasure, I would certainly use the hotel again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel as they face onto the main road into the city and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 - 322 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Thomson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.