We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The haggis was the best I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arches

The Arches
253 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland (City Centre)
0141 565 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 127 Attractions in Glasgow
Type: Theaters, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Europe's leading cultural venues, the Arches is both an arts receiving and production house with an international reputation as an exciting hub of ground-breaking creativity. Housed within seven Grade A listed Victorian railway arches in Glasgow city centre, the venue presents a year-round programme of theatre, performance, dance, visual art, live music, club nights and creative learning.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The haggis was the best I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Apart from a minor blip with the booking, which incidentally was dealt with very professionally, the food and staff were excellent. I would def recommend eating here and can't wait to go back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    5
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ideal cafe bar and music venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Right by Central Station, offers wonderful food at reasonable prices with a good choice of fresh ingredients. Wide range of music throughout the year. Access to bar cafe is by steep stairs. didn't notice whether or not there is a lift.
Ideal meeting place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“always a brilliant night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i often make the trip down to glasgow from aberdeen for pressure @ the arches. it's always a fantastic night with a great vibe.

i'm sure there is trouble but i don't think i have ever seen any at the nights i have attended.

bouncers can be quite intimidating at times but i think it's genuinely for your own safety. on arrival you may be searched. i get the impression they are looking for bottles, knifes and basically anything that you could cause harm to someone with inside the club.

good sound system, good people, good music. all in all a great trip and definitely worth the journey.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food let down by slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went with friends for a deal via 5pm, 3 courses and a glass of wine for £12, a great price so wasn't expecting haute cuisine however the food was very good. Starters of veg tempura were a little small, 4 pieces, however for the price completely reasonable. My main of pig cheeks was delicious as was the fish my friend had. My other pal, being a true vegetarian was a little miffed there was only one veggie dish however they kindly agreed to swap it for the veggie haggis on the a la carte as it was the same price. Upon ordering deserts we were told they had run out of two and had only one portion of brownie left leaving the only option the jelly (no good for veggies) and the cheese plate, so we had the brownie and 2 cheese plates. Good selection of cheese, nice oatcakes and chutney etc. However all in all we were very happy with the food, the only problem was the slowness in which dishes came out. Seated for 6.30 we must have had our starters an hour later, our mains about 8.15 and desert just before 9. Thankfully we were not in a hurry so could wait. The staff were friendly but hard to attract when we needed more wine, more oatcakes etc. I would definitely go back but not if I was in a hurry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had many a great night here. Great location, the building has cool interior and has many diverse shows, ranging from music, arts, theatre, clubs nights etc etc

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arches also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.