We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Constanzo” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
13 Woodside Crescent | Charing Cross/Park, Glasgow g3 7ul, Scotland
01413323070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Don Costanzo is a newly opened Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientele from across the globe, famous and not so famous enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese, fantastic food in a great atmosphere and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best of ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's new place will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with good parking.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don Constanzo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Cannot believe the reviews of this restaurant. Went there with my friend on Friday evening. The place was drab and the food was terrible and overpriced. I loved the Caprese and had high hopes of this place -will not be returning..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    7
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Reading through the reviews, I find it hard to believe that anyone has left a bad review about this place. We visited here recently as a family for my son's birthday and the first thing that struck me was how incredibly friendly and welcoming all the staff were. I loved the personal touch also that the chef comes out to chat with everyone to make sure all is well, it felt like we were guests in his home. Also, the staff just couldn't do enough for us. The chef made a special seafood pasta dish just for my son, which wasn't even on the menu. Also, when I ordered a dish that wasn't to my taste (not because it was in any way badly cooked) the chef whisked it away, without hesitation and made me something else, because he wanted to make sure we all had a lovely meal. I honestly don't think I have ever come across such amazing service at any other restaurant. All the waitresses were just so lovely and friendly and made a fuss of our two wee boys. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Suffering from serious withdrawal symptoms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Glasgow, Scotland (currently UK).
Former home to Lulu aka June and I.

Also home to one of the best Italian restaurants
in which we have ever eaten - the incredible Don Costanzo.

Our last meal was in August 2013 before we finally permanently left
for our new life in the south of France.

As always, our meal was perfect - we never ask for a menu and let
Ilia, Jo or The Don himself choose our dinner which is always done
with aplomb, good humour and they always get it right. If Rachel has
returned from Cyprus, she makes darned fine tiramisu!

The reasons I am writing this second review are as follows:

1. We've been in Italy over the last little while for a stop-over or two and
the meals are no-where near the quality Don Costanzo delivers
2. We miss the team and the restaurant so much, we are flying into Glasgow
en-route to Iceland simply to sample the food (true)
3. I have read the review that Joanna from Birmingham penned. What total rubbish. Costanza
will never swear at anyone and he is the nicest, kindest man you can ever imagine. He is
also a brilliant chef so a "suspiciously clean chef's outfit" means he is fastidious.

Take it from me - a former regular (once, twice even three times a week) that Don Costanza is an amazing restaurant, run by a family who love what they do - and it shows.

If you are in Glasgow, nothing else compares.

So, Costanza, Jo, Ilia and team - batten down the hatches, Ian and June will be there soon :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“what a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We found ourselves stuck in Glasgow for the night, after all the ferries were cancelled to Arran. We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and were really glad we went. After a miserable day, and a lousy wet and windy night, this restaurant brought us a bit of authentic Italian sunshine. It was warm, friendly, excellent service and excellent authentic, tasty food. We ended up having a lovely evening, and were glad we'd been stuck in Glasgow after all. Thank you to everyone at Don Costanza.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. I genuinely have not enjoyed food, service, ambiance or just about anything else associated with dining out, than I did in Don’s last Saturday evening.I haven’t stopped telling my friends and family about this fabulous find. We will definately return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Costanzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.