We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
13 Woodside Crescent | Charing Cross/Park, Glasgow g3 7ul, Scotland
01413323070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Don Costanzo is a newly opened Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientele from across the globe, famous and not so famous enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese, fantastic food in a great atmosphere and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best of ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's new place will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with good parking.
East Kilbride, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ristorante Caprese was our family's favourite restaurant in Glasgow

Don Costanzo has retained that place in our hearts with its flawless cuisine, excellent wines and friendly family service.

The pheasant in barolo as a special is superb.

Looking forward to our next visit soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    8
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best night out in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The welcome the food the Staff. the friendliness and the sexy Costanzo charming the women. What more is there to say. Bellissimo!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesmahagow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply "The Best"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Used to visit Caprese in Buchanan Street, so glad to have found this gem again. Everthing about it makes a meal here into a wonderful night out. The welcome when you arrive makes it seem like you are visiting personal friends in their home. Food, atmosphere and staff all outstanding, 2nd to none in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic old school eaterie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just back this evening from an immensely enjoyable experience at this hidden gem in Park Circus. Wine, food, ambience and service was top class from A-Z, the personal touch is in effect from the moment you come through the door. The evenings specials are presented to you with gusto by the man who is about to cook them,the lemon sole and the veal was a taste sensation washed down with a fantastic bottle of Barolo. It is very reassuring to know that in this day and age of Man v Food style trash dining, there are still places keeping the flame lit for old school Italian class! I'm already planning my next sojourn to Don Constanzo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As an old timer at Caprese in Buchanan Street I was delighted when I finally got an opportunity to reacquaint myself with Costanzo's fantastic product. Everything is wonderful; the food, the ambience, the staff, the decor, the cosiness, the kindness, the attention to detail, it is all simply faultless - and good value for money. I live in Aberdeen but anytime I am in Glasgow I will now be booking at table with the Don!

I would have been surprised if someone told me Costanzo was able to improve on what was on offer at Caprese at Buchanan Street (and frankly if I hadn't experienced it myself I wouldn't have believed it), but it is truly wonderful - go - you will have a fantastic time. I loved it and would thoroughly recommend to others looking for a great place to eat in Glasgow!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Costanzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.