We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caprese lives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
13 Woodside Crescent | Charing Cross/Park, Glasgow g3 7ul, Scotland
01413323070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Don Costanzo is a newly opened Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientele from across the globe, famous and not so famous enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese, fantastic food in a great atmosphere and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best of ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's new place will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with good parking.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caprese lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

As long time regulars at Caprese in Buchanan Street it was sad to see it close but the new restaurant in Woodside Terrace, Don Costanzo, is everything we had hoped for.
As always, Costanzo delivers good fresh food, well cooked and well served.
The welcome from all the staff is heartwarming and Costanzo is still as characterful as ever.
This was our second visit and we look forward to many more. My wife, who is disabled, could not have been better looked after.
For us, this is the best Italian restaurant in Glasgow.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo1904, Manager at Don Costanzo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Mr Sinclair. We always enjoy your visits with us and please send our best regards to your lovely wife, it is always a pleasure to serve you both! Take care and we will hopefully see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    8
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Caprese re-invented. Usual brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Caprese in Glasgow was one of the city's finest traditional Italian restaurants, there is no doubt that hundreds of customers from around the world were disappointed when Costanzo closed his doors! The good news is that Costanzo is back and the restaurant in the city's west end is just as good, if not better than before.

The staff are as ever warm, welcoming, chatty and very quick with the service. The food is the same - yep if you were worried that things may change, dont be as you will still see all your favourites.

I would say the prices may have gone up a little but not enough to sour an evening of great food in one of Glasgow's best atmospheres.

Well done Costanzo and the rest of the staff for getting it right.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo1904, Manager at Don Costanzo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We have tried hard to retain what we had at the Caprese in our new location, including the same old staff! Glad you like our new place and thanks for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food - new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have been waiting a while for Don Costanzo to open after Caprese in Buchanan Street shut, and finally managed it last night with the family.

The menu will be familiar to anyone who ate at the old place, and there are always a few specials on offer.

We split a bolognese ravioli for starters, the children had carbonara and both my wife and I unusually had veal in breadcrumbs with penne arrabiatta for mains. Brenda finished off with lemon cheescake, the kids a really nice vanilla ice cream.

Costanzo was his usual self, and there were a few familiar faces in the restaurant.

Food is good, the pasta is one to try if you go, also veal on the bone and the fresh fish which is de-boned at the table.

Don Costanzo like it's predecessor isn't cheap once you get onto carne and specials but it is worth going, and it has a good wine range.

Nice to see you back and running again

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo1904, Manager at Don Costanzo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our new place. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think and we're really pleased that you like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty disappointed but hope it was a one off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

I have to say I was pretty disappointed with don costanzo when I went for a Christmas lunch. The atmosphe and service was very good but the food was disappointing. It was a Christmas fixed menu so I will try again with the normal menu as the owner's previous restaurant was first class.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo1904, Manager at Don Costanzo, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your first visit to us last Christmas and hope we can change your mind if you visit us again. It is very unusual for our customers to be let down by our food and as you have visited the Caprese in the past, you know that we do the best that we can to make the whole experience enjoyable for everyone. Thanks for posting your views and hope that your next visit makes up for last Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Costanzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.