We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morag eats her words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregano at the Eagle Lodge

Oregano at the Eagle Lodge
2 Hilton Road | Bishopbriggs, Glasgow G64 2PN, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #821 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Morag eats her words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was convinced to give Oregano at the Eagle Lodge another visit by Elaine. After my visit in June and my review of the restaurant I was very apprehensive .

I didn't tell Oregano that I was returning. Just hoped it would be a nice meal with friends It was an absolutey super night. The meal was teriffic. service 10 out of 10 could not fault the meal nor the service. I can only put my visit in June down to an off night by Oregano. Will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    18
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great meal. Food was really nice. Service was terrific. Waitress was a delight. Everything done with a smile and grace. An asset to the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good food and pleasant service, what more do I need to add ?? I will be back. The table was booked for a family Golden Wedding Anniversary and no one was disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited the restaurant with a friend on 7th Aug for lunch. Initial impressions were good, Glasshouse is lovely. We were served promptly by a cheery girl and ordered the veg pakora and Bruschetta which were both really nice. Friend ordered beef burger (without lettuce) and I had the chicken burger. Beef burger came (with lettuce), it was ok apparently taste wise and the chicken burger was overdone to the point of being unedible, a knife wouldn't even go through it. Chips were decent though. I complained and staff were nice about it and took 25% percent off the bill. We ordered Eton Mess Sundae which my friend said was lovely, I chose the lemon tart...there was no taste of any lemon and was quite dry. Wasn't really my day. The desserts we weren't charged for as compensation for the burger. Had to remind the waitress also of the water we had ordered and then had to go find someone when I wanted to pay the bill. Not a great experience overall, my friend was just out of hospital hours earlier and i had taken her out for a treat, we should have just went to The Stables which I found nicer overall. Wasn't a terrible experience but the food can definitely be improved upon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had an excellent meal. The new menu retains some of the favourites but has added some new dishes to tempt you to try something new. Plenty of choice for both starters and main courses. Both my wife and I went for something different and all courses were served in good time, beautifully presented by staff who served politely with a smile. The choice of wines is excellent and all reasonably priced and our overall bill was good value for money. One to try if you are looking for an excellent meal in lovely surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management270, Manager at Oregano at the Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are glad you like the new menu choices. It is always good to get feedback from our customers so that we know we are giving the customer what they want. Our Wines are chosen carefully, so again this is good news for us that you like our selections. Thanks again for your valued custom and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregano at the Eagle Lodge also viewed

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire
Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Oregano at the Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregano at the Eagle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.