We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Meal & Great Friendly Staff at Punjabi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punjabi Charing Cross

Punjabi Charing Cross
157-159 North Street | Glasgow, Glasgow G3 7DA, Scotland
0141-221-3926
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Punjabi Charing Cross is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set in the heart of Glasgow, Punjabi Charing Cross offers a dining experience unique to all. Whether it is for an intimate meal, to take the family out or even to enjoy a curry with a group of friends, our restaurant will provide a unique experience. Why not start your meal with our unique starters which range from delicious keema padora to our much heralded lamb chops or even our freshly cooked fish pakora. Our curries are cooked the punjabi way and retain a unique depth of flavour. Why not try our traditional lamb on the bone or even the chicken equivalent. Other curries such as our lamb chilli ginger and our punjabi garlic chilli provide a unique twist to the classic curry everyone loves. No description of the Punjabi would be complete without mentioning our newest creation:the lamb Gurmeet.With such depth of choice one visit is simply not enough.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Meal & Great Friendly Staff at Punjabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are never disappointed each time we have a meal at the Punjabi restaurant on North Street Charing Cross Glasgow. Top indian food, friendly staff and nice place. We eat here most Fridays after work, and we are always made welcome by Ram, Harry and and especially Kevin. We mostly go for the 'meal deal' with a bottle of wine included, great value and we always feel full to the brim by the end of the meal. We would really recommend this place for lunch or dinner anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    37
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lamb Gurmeet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This has become a Glasgow favourite in the two years since it opened. Hari, Mein Host, and Chef Gurmeet can create anthying one describes...Ths Lamb Gurmeet is outstanding...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Top class, you need to try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Only found this due to Tripadvisor whilst staying in the Hilton.

Was so impressed with the people and the food.

From the free spiced onions to the lamb chops and special Punjab starters to the chilli chicken and easy and chana it was FANTASTIC!

You'll be hard pressed to find better quality for the cost anywhere in Glasgow - including Ashoka, Shimla's and Mr Singh.

They also have a smaller version near Ibrox stadium.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great potions, probably my favourite place in Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having a dietary problem it's important to me to know all ingredients used. Not a problem here as dishes were discussed in detail & I even tried sea bass which is not something that I would normally choose. So fresh, it was delicious. Thanks again I'll be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I cant believe that I have been back to this restaurant again and again as Indian food would not normally be my first choice of food. But the food is wonderful the lamb cops for starter the noori sauce with tandoori chicken superb and last but not least the thin and crispi nan bread is to die for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi Charing Cross also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Punjabi Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punjabi Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.