We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't go home hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Brazil

Viva Brazil
87-91 Bothwell Street, Glasgow G2 7HX, Scotland
0141 204 0240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 1,870 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“can't go home hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

went with friends for a girly lunch wow did we eat the food was fabulous. Lovely atmosphere and staff. did I say the food was great but only if you are a carnivore which we are. The meat is brought to your table and carved for you lots of different meats lovely buffet with going hot and cold veg and hot stews worth every penny food cheep if before 5pm drinks not bad for city center

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    219
    104
    62
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've passed this restaurant many times on previous visits to Glasgow and always thought I should pay it a visit. I wish I hadn't!

The good things were the staff who were friendly and helpful and the buffet which had a fairly limited range of hot and cold dishes which were all fresh and good quality.

The big disappointment was the meat! Every red meat was totally overcooked, so it was dry and tough. They claim they have 15 different cuts of meat which will be brought to your table but we only received about half of them though we were offered the cheaper cuts many times over (must have been offered pork sausages at least ten times).

I didn't try them (as I didn't want to fill up on cheap cuts) but my wife said the chicken legs and pork ribs were good.

We asked the carver who brought the rump steak that we preferred our meat rarer and he promised to order some for us, but although he came back and said they were cooking it that was the last we heard of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my 5th time at this restaurant and I love it even more every time. We travelled as a foursome (2 couples) before going to see Rod Stewart at the new Hydro. Simply cannot find fault with the food, drink or atmosphere. Our bill came to approx. £80 for the 4 of us including drinks. Best value is to dine before 5pm on the lunch menu. We usually have this and always leave stuffed. Will be back (hopefully fiancé will bring me for my birthday)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fiesta Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Guys, if you like meat, this is one of the places to visit. There is an excellent salad bar for your sides. And the waiters bring the meat to our table the brazilian way. Excellent rumb steak. Slicing it at your table.
Prices are reasonable. The menu on Sunday was only 17 pounds. Will visit again next year for sure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise this place was!!! Food after food after food!!! All delicious!!! Can seem a bit pricey but you won't walk out hungry!!! Buffer bar too has a great section of different kind of hot and cold food. Well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Brazil also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Viva Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Brazil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.