We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G33 6HW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Bremerhaven, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of Glasgow, so no problem to reach it from the motorway. The large car park gives the hint that this is a reknowned hotel for wedding parties and similar events. So if you want to see lots of Scots in their kilts, just walk across the hotel´s lobby on a weekend. It is a great place to see the different styles and colours, when there a several weddings at the same time.

The hotel`s rooms are comfortable and modern. They had a nice scottish breakfast with a small cereal´s buffet. I as well dined at the restaurant which was a pleasure as well.

To go to Glasgow I recommend the local trains departing every 30 minutes from the train stop.nearby.

I would come again when passing by in Glasgow!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    81
    21
    8
    17
See reviews for
68
105
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and very helpful. they go over and above to accommodate you, my husband and I were celebrating a very special occasion so we were promptly upgraded to a bigger room, which was beautiful The whole ambience of the hotel is very relaxed and welcoming, The restaurant was faultless the meal was absolutely delicious. we had a few drinks at the bar which was very chilled and you would never know there was a wedding in the next room! Prices for drinks were also very reasonable. The breakfast was also just as delicious and filling. This wasn't our first stay at the hotel we even had our wedding there a few years back. We would go again over and over. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have stayed here a few times recently, lovely rooms and great staff. Food good in evening and at breakfast. We had our dog with us and we were given a room near the fire exit which was great for taking the dog in and out

Room Tip: Ask for room 34,35 or 36 if you are taking a dog with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Interesting hotel -very much the same as I was used to when I was an assistant hotel manger in the 1980's - clean rooms, great pillows and duvet -I do not sleep well the first night in any hotel -congratulations slept through from 10pm to 6.30pm very comfortable -breakast old fashioned service of tea, coffee, toast and full Scottish breakfast -very big portions and nice and hot -had dinner in the hotel -once again has not disappointed -I had the Cullen skunk soup and steak pie tonight -service was good and restaurant well run -overall very happy and you will know when I write I can be critical -no nasty sachets of tomato ketchup or mustard in this hotel, makes a change in this day and age - well done

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Garfield in September 2012. As with others reviews you will read on a similar topic, we can corroborate with any giving this hotel the highest scoring possible. The venue itself is very modern and well decorated.The booking staff were extremely helpful and prompt. John Kelly was the perfect host for the day - in service and delivery he is top class. The staff working on the day were superb and even once the non resident guests had left, those remaining were still well catered for. Our perfect day was completed by this perfect venue and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed one night on business

After a long journey realised that we may be late for food from the restaurant - so we phoned ahead and the staff offered a few choices - and advised that they would keep the kitchen open to provide the 3 of us with a meal (steak pie). Very good :-)
We arrived and the staff were most helpful and understanding.

The hotel appears to have undergone recent refurbishment so was well presented as well as clean.

We were in the hotel for a small business confrence which was a big success with the support of the hotel.

When you encounter such positive and friendly service it makes you wonder why others cannot act in a smiliar manner.

Many thanks and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had our wedding and reception in the Garfield House. From booking over a year in advance to the day it was pleasure dealing with the staff and in particular John Kelly who deals with the planning and execution of the wedding day. The Garfield is very modern and the recent refurb making it look and feel classy. We had a number of our family and friends staying at the hotel on the night of the wedding and everyone we have spoken to have complimented how lovely the rooms were, saying how nicely decorated and clean they were. The day of the wedding went without a hitch (except by me the groom haha) and we really can’t thank the staff and John for the work they put in to make this the greatest day of our lives. Nothing was too much to ask. We got all our picture taken in the gardens and everything ran on time overseen by John… The food was excellent and well presented, every one of our guests mentioned how great the food was and the buffet included in that praise. On the run up to the wedding we went for dinner and lunch a few times and the food has always been first class.
As a wedding venue it is first class with the feel of a grander classier place but without the expense that other 4/5 star venues in the area have. As a hotel the rooms are of good size, clean, modern and great value. I think we will be spending our anniversary there next year and we only live 15 mins away. Thanks again for a wonderful day

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Address: Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G33 6HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garfield Hotel
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.