We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nachos Mexican Restaurant

Nachos Mexican Restaurant
15 Skirving Street | Shawlands, Glasgow G41 3AB, Scotland (Cowcaddens)
0141 616 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #768 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cowcaddens
glasgow scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here on an itison deal with my family and it was really good. The food was great and plenty of it. So glad I bought two lots of vouchers so will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    60
    36
    13
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid if you actually enjoy food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I rarely do reviews, but I felt compelled to write one on this place.

The nachos really didn't seem like nachos...more like cardboard with plastic cheese!

I have never tasted Mexican food that is so terrible!! The beef enchiladas were terrible! The chicken and chorizo quesadillas were revolting!

The best bit was leaving and if I wasn't put off eating for the night I would have grabbed a McDonald's!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nachosglasgow N, Owner at Nachos Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
With all due respect Sir, I have checked with the duty servers that were in when you dined in Nachos on Tuesday evening. They all remember you well, a young couple, chirpy and happy throughout the meal and even when you left. The server that checked on you during the meal, at which point you could have raised any issues regarding the quality of the food, has assured me that you were happy with your meal...there were no issues. The server who cleared your plates stated that there was a little bit of rice and refried beans left on one plate and the other was pretty much cleared. Staff have been trained to address any food left on the plate...we would offer to pack it up to go. This applies to every table and every customer. In your case, there was nothing really left to pack up. We take pride in the quality of our food and service. In this instance I also felt compelled to respond to your review. If the food had been "revolting and disgusting" as you claim....why did you not let the servers know? It would have been tried and tested immediately. The Nachos team work hard to deliver good tasty food and pleasant service to all customers.......and will continue to do so. We do accept however, that we will not please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Complete Let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was ok at best. Portion sizes were meagre for the price. Waiter did not bring back change, think it is up to the customer if/how much they would like to tip! Avoid this place there is not a hint of authenticity about it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nachosglasgow N, Owner at Nachos Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review SharonT. I am surprised that you found our portions to be "meagre". In most instances we actually have to pack-up the food as the customer cannot finish it because the portions are so big. We would rather wrap it up for you and let you take it home than reduce the portions. You state that we are not authentic in any way......what exactly does that mean? Our chef is of Mexican origin, originally from San Diego and has tailored a menu using the freshest of ingredients, spices and chillies......all spices and chillies are home-roasted. Certainly here in Glasgow we don't have all the food resources that were available to the chef in the States but he does well with what he has....we have never claimed to be authentic, frankly I'm not even sure what that is. My understanding of authentic is getting what you would back home...i.e in the small Mexican villages.
You did not state when you were in or even what you had to eat. We always give change back and we certainly do know that tipping is at the customer's discretion. We do not even add service charge to parties of 6 or more. Most restaurants do so. The waiter does not recollect this but if you come in, we can address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Saw an offer on Groupon and thought we would give it a go. I have to say that we all enjoyed the food. The portions were huge and of good quality. Having been to pancho villas in the city centre on numerous occasions I would have to say that nachos is better - bigger portions, better quality and better priced. Even though we got a bargain through groupon - £7.25 each for two courses we will definitely go back. Unfortunately not sure if it will be still trading as it was very quiet for a Saturday evening although in saying that so was Shawlands overall. It's not the same place it once was. If you like nice spicy mexican food give it a go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Consistently terrible across the board”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Picked this restaurant because of the good reviews on TA but we were really disappointed, seriously wondering if we visited the same place as the other reviewers.

The decor is tired, not really Mexican, no lights in the ladies toilets or locks on the door so the place feels neglected. Don't think anyone Mexican cooks there, or has even been to Mexico on their holidays.

Firstly the drinks, margaritas which they don't serve frozen, and tasted awful, like cough syrup, £5 a drink and couldn't even finish them.

Then the starter which was nachos, which was ok but the guacamole was awful, didn't seem fresh.

Main course was the world's smallest fajitas, the tortillas were about the size you get with Peking duck, and potato wedges which were soggy and shrivelled.

Service was poor, only one server half heartedly asked how the meal was, but when we started to tell her, she walked away without comment. Guess the kitchen didn't get the message. Weren't given any acknowledgement when paying bill, and we got out of there as quickly as possible.

I really don't like leaving such a negative review but can't think of anything positive to say unfortunately, I would avoid returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nachos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nachos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nachos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.