We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service, shame about the attitude.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nachos Mexican Restaurant

Nachos Mexican Restaurant
15 Skirving Street | Shawlands, Glasgow G41 3AB, Scotland
+44 141 616 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #606 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service, shame about the attitude.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have been to this restaurant on a couple of occasions and I have to say that the food is excellent. I like to support good restaurants in my local community, so I make a point of dining out locally. I think that this place is great value for money, the portions are reasonable and I have never had a dish that I haven't enjoyed. The margaritas are to die for, and the decor is fun, but not too tacky. The large pyramid mural actually makes a pleasing focus wall. The service is always prompt and the waitresses are pleasant. I have only one small niggle with this place and that is the attitude of the manageress. She has a very superior and abrupt manner about her, and can come across as quite dismissive at times. I have been to this restaurant twice and I have encountered this on both occasions,so I couldn't put it down her just having a bad night. I have also been met with a snooty tone when I have called the restaurant. To be fair, the manageress is always polite and efficient, if a little impatient, and she may not be aware that she is doing it, but it is a little off putting for customers. I would consider going back to this restaurant DESPITE the attitude of the manageress, simply because the food is so good, but I hope I get a warmer welcome next time. If not I think I'll be giving it a miss in the future. There are plenty of restaurants with good food, but service with a smile is important too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    21
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

had my 3rd visit to Nachos last night and had a great meal. ordered starters from the special tapas menu and had a main from the normal menu. food was fast, hot and spicy and really nice. i asked for my enchiladas without veg and they were keen to offer me extras. ended up with a chicken, chorizo and potato enchilada which was amazing. the portions were perfect. not too much and not too little. and the service as good as ever. 3 starter, 2 meals and 5 drinks and the bill was £36

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Small portions, but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined here on a Saturday night at the beginning of November. We'd booked, but only 4 or 5 tables were occupied.
The menu is typical Mexican fare, with Starters around the £5 mark, and mains around £10. I ordered nachos with beef to start, which arrived quickly but was a bit cold, and the portion quite small, they were tasty though and the salsa spicy. My wife’s starter, a sort of tostada with Chicken looked good, and she enjoyed it. For main, I went for the old favourite Chicken and Chorizo Fajitas’, my wife went with the Chicken Enchilada. My main arrived, on a sizzling platter, with a smallish side dish of the usual, sour cream, salsa, salad etc, but with only 2 wraps! The food tasted good, but I was halfway through my 2nd wrap, and was then told I could have more wraps/sides if I wanted...would have been better to have been told this at the start!
My wife enjoyed her main. The bill, including 2 rounds of Sol and a diet coke was £40.

Enjoyed the food, but could have done with a wee bit more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent on all fronts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a get together meal with 5 adults. Excellent service and lovely atmosphere. The food is excellent Mexican. Best i have had for starter, main and pudding both home and abroad. My mum was there and doesn't like Mexican but was converted!

The cocktails both alcoholic and non alcoholic were tasty and the wine -white house- was lovely.

The staff couldn't have been better we never looked for anything to be done the staff were attentive without being interfering.

Lovely easy atmosphere which was really chilled. The manageress allowed us to sit back and chat long after the restaurant had closed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nachosglasgow N, Manager at Nachos Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much! The pleasure was all ours! We do our utmost to look after our customers. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the second time we visited Nachos, if anything the food was even better than the first occasion. The chicken and beef nacho starters were excellent. Chicken Chimmy Chungas were great as were the Burritos. All round a very good meal with pleasant attentive staff. Will return and would recommend this Mexican Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nachos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nachos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nachos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.