We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asmaan Tandoori

Asmaan Tandoori
22 Bath Street | City Centre, Glasgow G2 1HB, Scotland
0141 3312575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A versatile eating experience that can now be sampled in glasgow "THE SUNDAY TIMES"Like us on facebook.. Asmaan Restaurant
medin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a modern up to date fancy restaurant then this isn't for you. But if you want a small traditional family run restaurant with great service and good food then this is the place. They went out of their way to serve us what we wanted. Great service. Will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    51
    11
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Food great staff very friendly nice size of place small and Cosy more like small cafe,
Went with some friends who were home visiting Glasgow from Germany they were staying in Glasgow for a week and it was there third visit they enjoyed it so much can't wait to go back with other friends to try some more of the fab food and great banter from the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“"Average" sums it up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited one evening while on business in Glasgow. It was quite early so the place was not busy. Just a couple of other tables were occupied and one of those seemed to be a regular.
Both the exterior and the interior decor seemed a little run down and dingy. The service was initially rather desultory but later some else appeared who I took to be the owner/manager and he seemed a bit more switched-on - he even enquired about my choices as he was concerned that I hadn't ordered any rice!
The food was OK - my benchmark is Tarka Dhal and this was a good flavour but rather on the soupy side. The portions were reasonable as were the prices.
Overall, Glasgow has many eating choices. This place was OK but if I went to Glasgow again, I'd probably try somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Asmaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had an excellent meal in this friendly City centre restaurant, the staff were really friendly and the food was spicy and tailored to exactly what each of us asked for, and if it wasn't on the menu they were able to conjure it up without any problem, in fact it was so good we even went back the second night!

it was a quiet Monday night for our first visit and the waiter/owner had time to chat and banter with us which made it a real fun evening, if you visit ask him to demonstrat how to work the tempremental hand dryer in the gents for you:-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I always visit this restaurant on a city break to Glasgow and we are never disappointed, as the food is always delicious. The naans are the best we have ever tasted and the chicken is very tender. The staff are very friendly without being intrusive and the restaurant, although not huge, feels very cosy. It is very convenient if you are staying at the new Premier Inn on Sauchiehall Street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asmaan Tandoori also viewed

 

Been to Asmaan Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asmaan Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.