We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive service with an Indian smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Twist

Masala Twist
192-194 Byres Road, Glasgow G12 8SN, Scotland
01413393777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Glasgow,Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very attentive service with an Indian smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited last night after a quick pint over the road at one of Glasgow's finest hostelries and really enjoyed the meal. We had pakora and chicken chaat to start with. The pakora was crunchy crunchy and the chaat something to talk about! Sweet and aromatic with a devilish hint of hot spice. Main courses were Chicken Bhuna and Indian Garlic Chilli Chicken with a large plain nan (no butter the healthy option) and boiled rice. The red wine was a nice Rioja, sensibly priced and a great accompaniment for the meal.

Staff were fabulous. Friendly and attentive.

Price OK too.

Recommend.

Mystic

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    14
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So good we went back again the next night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staying at the holiday inn last weekend we were given some leaflets masala twist was advertised in it. What a find, lovely cosy restraunt,fast efficiant service and very nice food.chicken pakora nicest ive tasted anywhere. So good we went back the next night for more. Well done masala twist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have used this restaurant and purchased takeaway and a la carte meals and it has always been pricey but quality. This was before all there recent special offers. After a hard day at work, I decided to order a takeaway for collection. I was informed it would be 15 minutes. On arrival I was told they were busy and it would be another 15 minutes. When I finally got the meal home, I was very disappointed. The chicken poori was as its namesake, poor. The chicken had flown out of the chapatti and it was more like a weight watchers poori. The chicken bhoona, was not a bhoona. the sauce was a bright orange, very spicy and the tomatoes were missing. When i phoned to complain, I was told that a poori is a starter and is meant to be small. I explained that I have had a poori many times before and that it was never as poor as this, to which I was told that's it. With regards the bhoona he apologised and said if I took it back he would refund the money and give me a curry free, but after waiting so long I declined, and next time I go I will receive one free curry and rice, though I doubt I will ever be back. Shame that its standards have slipped all because they have introduced special offers to chase a quick buck. Hungry and disillusioned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“BRILLIANT FOOD, SERVICE AND AMBIANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am a very frequent customer to this place. Just love the food here and service is top notch. Paneer Malaidar is the best in the whole city. Love the FOOD, totally a A++ highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, good flavours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went with friends on a voucher deal £6 a head for main course & accompaniment. If you ordered a tikka or fish dish it was £5 extra. On arrival it was busy, good atmosphere, lively. Decent decor & space between tables, lighting good, pretty clean, staff attentive. One issue toilets upstairs, so not great if your mobility isn't good.
The food was well presented & very tasty. We ordered 4 mains, all different & all very nice. Good flavours, aromatic, not overly spiced & all very different. A bit disappointed with the veg curry, unimaginative with the usual bog standard veg, potato, peas, carrot, not hard to create a better one with more imaginative veg. The garlic nan was particularly nice, crisp, thin, well cooked not "doughy" like a lot of them are. The wine wasn't bad either, price wise a bit on the high side, the usual hefty mark up, again like most other places.
I'd heard this place was a bit of a hit or miss, I can say it hit the spot. The waiting staff were all without exception very nice, attentive, helpful, no complaints there.
Would I go back...yes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Twist also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Glasgow, Scotland
East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Masala Twist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Twist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.