We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the cake plate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocho on the Canal

Ocho on the Canal
8 Speirs Wharf, Glasgow G49TB, Scotland
0141-332-6229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #605 of 1,873 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Diner, Scottish, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
dundee united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the cake plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

clean and very welcoming nice atmosphere ,friendly staff.BUT the advertised cake plate has been borrowed ?this picture is featured in their ad . from carrot top bistro glasgow and misled me into thinking that was the deal,ok my fault for not reading small print the sandwiches were tasty and fresh the coffee was good and so were the scones BUT no cakes as illustrated all in all enjoyed the afternoon break and will probably go back

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    25
    9
    10
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wishaw, lanarishire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Character on the Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I had Eleanor's first fist tea on Saturday 9th June and it was fantastic.
The fish was a treat and an even better treat was the handmade chips, fantastic just like my Mother used to make. Eleanor made you feel very much at home her welcome was terrific and what a character, friendly and jolly. As well as the fish and chips we had a lovely glass of cava with our meal then we had gorgeous home made scones with tea, what a treat. Will definately be going back.

Well done Eleanor and compliments to the chef.

Liz and Drew Anderson, Wishaw

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My partner and I ate the fish and chips last night and it was lovely. Fresh, hot, and beautifully prepared. The chef came out of the kitchen which was nice and the front of house staff, namely the whirlwind that is Eleanor, added to the unique ambience of the bijous little place. It was excellent value for money, we were looked after like we were regulars and her best customers and will most definitely be going back and recommending this hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ocho Cafe Bar Diner Glasgow on the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had afternoon tea here today. We had made a reservation for afternoon tea , we arrived table waiting for us. met by Eleanor , friendly, welcomming, clean and comfy surroundings. Afternoon tea was fantastic, great variety of sandwiches and delicious scones all made fresh. Would rate this 10 out of 10 and definately returning. Pamela Bell.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Spent last Friday at Ocho with friends. Food was great and excellent value for money. Most of our bill was made up of drinks as we were celebrating, but lovely welcoming staff ie Eleanor and the chef John, great surroundings and lovely atmosphere. Other diners were clearly regulars and welcomed by name, but great Glasgow friendliness at this venue.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocho on the Canal also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ocho on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocho on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.