We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercado Tapas

Mercado Tapas
17 Bell Street | G1 1NU, Glasgow g1 1nu, Scotland
1415523400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #961 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Came here in December with a deal for 6 tapas and a bottle of wine. I thought it would be small portions and a cheap wine but was very suprised as the wine was very good and well chilled and the Tapas was superb and large portions. Service was excellent too. Always nice to have a laugh with the staff. Will be back here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    31
    38
    24
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“GREAT TAPAS RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We came here in the run up to Christmas on a busy Thursday night. Restaurant was busy but, despite that, the staff were very attentive. We entered from the Merchant Square courtyard entrance and we were immediately greeted by a friendly waitress. We had a selection of tapas which were very tasty - although the selection could have been a bit more adventurous. We had a great bottle of Rioja, all priced very reasonably.

Great atmosphere, nice surroundings, excellent staff, good taps.

Definitely coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Ate here with friends, and it was cheap although the very diluted sangria was pretty expensive - but all in all we enjoyed it and the staff were friendly and attentive, but it was nothing to write home about, some hits and misses with the food, chorizo and red wine was pretty good though, would avoid the mussels! Glasgow desperately needs a really great tapas bar.

I also find the whole atmosphere in Merchant Square a bit odd!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Service, Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Came here on a Wednesday around 6pm and it was very quiet so we were seated and served quickly.

Opted for the tapas and the sangria and it was lovely.
From the service of the waitress to the pitcher of sangria, everything was perfect and I'd highly reccommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“£6.95 Lunch - BARGAIN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Another “Happened-Upon” lunch – Don’t really like eating out this time (Christmas) of year due to overpriced crap service, crap food and office parties a go-go. But what a treat – 2 courses or 3 Tapas each £6.95 – What a Bargain. Prawns, Mussels, Squid, Beef in Peppercorn Sauce, Pt Bravas, Chorizo, Salmon & Avocado – the list just goes on. 3 Tapas each, 3 of us in total was ample. Very nice staff, couple of Spanish Waiters good décor etc. We sat inside and not in the Square – outside but inside.
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado Tapas also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mercado Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercado Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.