We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gnocchi to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Famiglia - CLOSED

La Famiglia
111 Cleveden Road | Kelvinside, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 334 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Italian restaurant opened 16/08/2011 First class food not the usual Pasta and Pizza Award winning chef small menu exellent 0141 334 0111
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gnocchi to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love this place! Nico is a fantastic chef and his food is delicious. He obviously uses quality produce and I have no complaints whatsoever about the food (especially the gnocchi!), staff, atmosphere and price. It is worth every penny.
I have been a few times and I have found the service to be excellent. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Small cosy restaurant which you need to seek out but worth the find!! Best authentic Italian food I've found in Glasgow with attention to detail in the flavours and presentation.. 1 of my guest was a vegetarian and was delighted to be given about 8 different options from the manager of fresh homemade raviolis other dishes.. If you are a lover of fine Italian wine then this is the place.. The manager recommended many wines to us to complement our meal choices his knowledge was incredible ..
We shall be back ASAP

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this Italian eatery in Cleveden. The food is lovely and service spot on. We have been three times now and the experience is good. They also do an early evening menu that is great value. Best of ll we can walk to it!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“10/10 MARKS FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Local restaurant but first visit for us under the ownership of Nico Simeone who is also the chef.
The oxtail ravioli is a trailblazer.with intense flavours, perfect al dente ravioli and melt in the mouth oxtail. Main courses are generous, Perfectly cooked pink lamb for my husband and tender hake for me. I did not really need the chunky and piping hot chips which came late as the main was so filling but but there was no charge in advance of a complaint. Four choices for starters and mains but extensive Italian wine list with prices ranging from teens to hundreds. Our Barbera d`Asti was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant quite a few times now and have always enjoyed the food. The chef is quite innovative at times trying out new combinations. I do like his risottos either as a starter or a main course but haven't had anything to complain about yet and we have always found the service to be friendly and knowledgeable. Certainly one that we return to again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.