We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
111 Cleveden Road | Kelvinside, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 334 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New Italian restaurant opened 16/08/2011 First class food not the usual Pasta and Pizza Award winning chef small menu exellent 0141 334 0111
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although a bit pricey, you get what you pay for....
The mushroom tart was amazing - served with a confit of egg yolk - cooked for 5 hours on a low heat. It simply melts into the mushrooms to make a truly unctious starter.
The main of chicken was very tasty, especially the re-constructed and herb-stuffed chicken leg. This showed great skill and creativity of the chef.
The pudding of pear tart tatin was sublime - generous, light, sweet, moreish.
The meal was faultless - I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited this place on a whim having lived no more than a 5 minute walk from it for over 8 years and never been in before. I've been missing out! The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. This is a real Italian restaurant, not a pizza and pasta joint and the chef has clearly worked hard to produce something a little bit special.

We went for the fixed price menu which turned out to be excellent value. Both of us decided to skip the starters as we wanted to keep room for the desserts. I had the mussels linguine - I wasn't going to because I wasn't in the mood for messing about with shells but the waiter couldn't have been more helpful and was happy to ask the chef to shell the mussels before the food came out. The dish was perfect, beautifully balanced with chilli and lemon. My dining partner had the stuffed chicken which was also excellent (I had to steal a bite off her plate when she wasn't looking).

For dessert, although we were on the fixed price menu the waiter was happy for us to choose anything from the a la carte. I had the pannacotta which was fabulous and my partner had the pear tart tatin. I was threatened with violence if I tried to sample her dessert so all I can say is it must have been good.

The service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing, the decor and ambience spot on. I've read some of the poor reviews and have to say they bear little resemblance to our experience. The music was kept at a low volume and was never intrusive and quite frankly anyone who turns their nose up at a restaurant just because it's next door to a Spar clearly has bigger issues.

I wouldn't hesitate the recommend this restaurant to anyone. I'll definitely be going back, regularly. In other reviews I've said that a good measure of a place is whether or not I think it's worth travelling across town for. This place definitely is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great food, service can be a bit hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've eaten at La Famiglia four times now. Twice for dinner and twice for lunch.

The food is always very good, however the food at dinner is many times better than at lunch!! At dinner the presentation is fantastic and the food is genereally excellent. I recommend the scallops baked in the shell with citrus fruits and beetroot. Absolutely fantastic!

It would be good to see the lunch menu change a bit more. I'll probably not return for lunch until it does. The dinner menu seems to change frequently.

Service is generally good, however, on my last visit, they were really slow taking drinks orders and clearing the plates from the table. Our side order of triple cooked chips never arrived but it did make it on to the final bill and I had to ask for it to be removed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What an amazing restaurant!! The food was the nicest I've ever had in any Italian restaurant, the wine was excellent as was the service. Overall I would highly recommend this restaurant over any other. Can't wait to return!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service very slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visited 29th September. A small menu but enough variety to suit most tastes. Tthe food was excellent but the service incredibly slow despite the restaurant being only one third full. Three and a half hours for a 3 course meal (no coffee) was a bit too long. Delay seemed to be from the kitchen as the front of house staff were efficient and attentive. However this won't put us off going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.