We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a short stroll to city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Glasgow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Glasgow Hotel to your Saves list
Menzies Glasgow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just a short stroll to city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The outside of this hotel isn't very impressive, but inside is a whole lot better. There is secure parking just across the road, although it is not obvious at first. You drive up to the metal gates and they open automatically and you are given a code to get back in via a keypad. There is a charge for parking. The staff are all very efficient and impressive, they are obviously trained to a very high standard. The food in the restaurant for evening meal is excellent and of good quality, although the menu does not seem to change, so if you are staying for more than a couple of days you may find the choice limited. Breakfast is the usual buffet style, which is a shame because as in most hotels which offer buffet style breakfast, it means that the food is not very hot. The choice however is very good. They could do with a new toaster, as I do like toast to be toasted and not just warm bread. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean, although we were not impressed by the shower curtain, rather than a screen. The extractor in the bathroom was timed for a very long time (still on when we got back from dinner). There was a fridge in our room.

We did not use the leisure facilities, so cannot comment on the pool etc. We did find that the extractor system for the leisure club was not switched off and unfortunately meant that we had to change rooms after a disturbed sleep on the first night, because we could hear it all night.

The hotel is just a short stroll to the city centre shops and we managed it in a brisk walk of about 15 minutes. Wifi is available.

Room Tip: Check that you cannot hear the extractor system for the leisure club before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    474
    135
    36
    36
See reviews for
203
558
40
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a good hotel. it isn`t too expensive. The building is located next to the city centre. The is
Wi Fi in rooms. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is good: porridge, sosiages, eggs, bacon.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very friendly staff. Thank you.This hotel may be classified as being a budget hotel but visitors will be pleasantly surprised by the staff, rooms, cleanliness and the excellent attitude of each and every member of staff .UI believe that one would be hard pushed to get better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Would highly recommend the Menzies hotel, were just home after out visit truly amazing staff so welcoming and friendly and eager to help in anyway, even my 8 year old daughter was mentioning how nice the staff were. On arrival while checking in the kiddys got there own wee check in sheet with a bracelet to access unlimited fruit juice at reception and a free ice cream lovely wee touch to include kids in the fun. The pool was fun for us all, dinner in the dining room was delish for everyone all needs meet as my daughter is fuzzy! My son was very impressed with all his course. We stayed in room 508 was lovely and clean, plenty of space for the 4 and bath was amazing the water was so hot which I love room was nice and cozy plenty of towels for us all. Breakfast was super my partner had the works and we couldn't fault a thing plenty of variety will all give this Menzies a huge thumps up and can't wait too come back xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Looks a bit bleak from the outside with a security fence almost encircling it completely BUT,
So much nicer when you get inside, the staff are as nice and helpful as any 5 star hotel.
The bedroom was a good size and the bath filled in no time with a good water pressure.
The dining room was good with plenty of room around ones table and the meal was excellent.
I would have no problem going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here last night on a business trip. The hotel is bright and airy with a lovely spa area. Food was excellent and all the staff extremely friendly. Close to the city centre and motorway network. Will definitely stay here again when we are next up in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bervie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great location and facilities..pool, spa, parking etc. ... also very helpful staff. We had a lovely big room with dual aspect views. Only a short walk into centre of Glasgow...Would definitely return to The Menzies

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Glasgow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Glasgow Hotel

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Glasgow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms,leisure facilities and on-site parking. The "Waves" health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Menzies Glasgow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Menzies Glasgow Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Glasgow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.