We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Glasgow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Glasgow Hotel to your Saves list
Menzies Glasgow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeenshire, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked this hotel as it is close to the Hydro, has a pool and was at a good price. The staff were very friendly. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The furniture is dated but it's clean and comfy! Free wifi. Ice machine. Nice bar.
We will definitely stay here again - next time we have a gig to go to!

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and overlooked the Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    417
    112
    31
    31
See reviews for
177
493
36
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
traceyice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Menzies with my mum and daughter. Good sized room with every thing that was needed. The rooms are very warm and you cannot open the windows, the decor needs to be updated, however the rooms are clean and comfortable.
The pool, sauna and steam areas are lovely. Did not use the treatments this time, but tried the hot stone massage previously, it is to die for!
Breakfast was very busy, the Scottish breakfast buffet option was quite good, but the kippers were lovely and a better choice.
Location is great, with easy access to all of the city.
Would go back again.b

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel last night, Friday 4th April 2014, as I was going to a concert at The Hydro.
We arrived about 2pm and got access to our room straight away. The room does have old fashioned furniture, but the bed was comfortable and the room was spacious, very clean, quiet and quickly reached. There are ice machines on each landing. We went to the leisure club and used the pool and the jacuzzi which were both the best I have seen at chain hotels. We had breakfast which gave you a choice of several things, cereals, fruit, cheese, croissants, pastries and fried food.

We found that The Hydro and the nightlife were all within walking distance and even if you didn't want to walk, the taxi fare was very cheap. The hotel has a car park which only cost £4 for 24 hours, which again was very reasonable (and secure)

We booked the week before and the rate was very good in relation to the standard of the hotel. I wouldn't class this as a high end 4* hotel, but then I wouldn't expect a high end 4* hotel for the rates offered.

I can't comment on the staff as we had no cause to contact them.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel as it met our expectations for being in Glasgow to go for a meal (Rotunda Yen and the Italian are highly recommended), attend the Hydro, experience the nightlife and relax in the pool, jacuzzi etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Myself and the missus had booked a night in one of their delux double rooms as we were attending a gig. On arrival we were told that there was availability problems since booking our room and they had upgraded us to an apartment at no extra cost. Staff were great the apartment was brilliant and breakfast was also delivered to the apartment which saved us having to face a crowd while hungover. All in all a great place to stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I decided to book a night away in Glasgow and we stayed in the Menzies Hotel. Bedroom very spacious and comfortable. Room service for food and drinks was overpriced. Pool and Jacuzzi were excellent - especially as we were the only people using the facilities.

Room Tip: We were on second floor - room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and were disappointed. The hotel is completely overrated. Rooms are spacious but furniture used to have better times, maybe15 years ago. The worst was that my WC did'nt run very well and when I arrived to the room it had a spoiled smell. I realized thereafter that it came from the WC, as I had to call and ask the reception to take care of this issue twice!. The people came to the room and left the toilette dirty. When you arrive from a all-day long conference you want to enjoy a nice shower and not to see how dirty they left your bathroom! Another "no way" point for a 4 stars hotel: the fridge was empty! I compained at the receiption and instead of filling the fridge they just limited to give me two small bottles of water. The first night I had to order one water and pay it by my own in the restaurtant! No chips, peanuts or anything else available in the room. The staff was friendly, but they limited to do their job and did not show any special attention to the guests. Breakfast was awful, I could't decide what to choose and not because everything looked tasty, but because everything looked uneatable. I would never recomment this hotel, specially the relation price-service is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Menzies Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Eilrug

Thank you for your review and I was very sorry to read you were disappointed with regard to your stay and please accept my apololgies. I have tried to contact you via the site to understand more about your stay and to speak to you directly, I have not had any response to my e-mail.

In relation to your room I would agree that the hotel has a more traditional look and feel to it than our newer competitors. I would however clarify that the standard of the case goods are still as good as the day they were fitted – I am sorry that you felt they were of a 3 star standard but understand your points.

In relation to the toilet and the flushing mechanism I believe the concierge did come up to try to resolve it which they managed to do. Sadly, with all mechanical parts we do not know they have failed until it happens I am sorry your room was affected. I was however very concerned that you felt they left your bathroom untidy and have ensure this has been resolved so no other guest is affected in this way as that is certainly not indicative.

In relation to your comments in relation to Fridges in the rooms – our standard rooms are provided with Mini Fridges which are not stocked and I am sorry if this was not clarified with you at the time. We do have executive rooms and apartments that have extra toiletries, bathrobes and the mini bar is stocked with soft drinks and snacks. It would appear as a gesture the team put in mineral water.

Your comments re breakfast I cannot understand as we get very positive feedback with relation to our breakfast offering with over 100 various items on our buffets and I can only apologise.

I am really sorry that you did not speak to my management team as I am sure that if you had done so we could have explained about your room booking and would have done all we could to ensure your stay in Glasgow was to your total satisfaction.


I do hope that I can welcome you back in the future and please do contact me directly in the future.

Sincerely

Philip
Philip Mellor
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Day delegate at a conference. Food fabulous and lovely little touches e.g. Bacon rolls at start! However, staff need to put additional flasks of coffee out as I went to get a cup at all 3 breaks and it was empty and had to actively go and search for staff!!

Room Tip: Did not sleep but cannot switch off!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Glasgow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Glasgow Hotel

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Glasgow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms,leisure facilities and on-site parking. The "Waves" health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Glasgow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Menzies Glasgow Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Glasgow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.