We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few very un-Hilton-ish experiences...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Seattle, United States
1 review
“A few very un-Hilton-ish experiences...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Several surprising (in a negative way) issues. Room next to freight elevator was very noisy. Handicapped shower configuration == shower water across entire bathroom floor. Parking garage elevator drops you into a grocery store (!!) across the street from the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    295
    130
    70
    54
See reviews for
132
294
50
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

2 nights stay in the Grosvenor Hilton Glasgow, very disappointment! The room was okay but extremely noisy. Breakfast was nice. Would not recommend this hotel due to being very expensive and definitely not 5 star. Lovely bar and reception area. About time they fitted new windows to keep noise to a minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Front desk and dining service excellent. Housekeeping abysmal. Stayed for 5 days, but room was not serviced on Sunday because "we were very busy". Extra towels were placed IN the bidet ( I could post pictures but won't). Wireless internet connectivity very poor. Had to sit on the floor near the door to get sufficient signal. Even then, bandwidth and connection integrity very poor. Not a place to get work done from the room.... even if they service it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location in Glasgow. Clean. Nice room. Very good restaurant in hotel. Dinner was excellent. Very good value for money. Nice staff. Efficient checkin and out. Only stayed one night but would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Attended a function as a guest of a large national company, and was disappointed from the outset. Despite the fact that it was a free bar, I ordered a round of drinks for our group of friends, prior to moving upstairs to the function room, and was charged £27.84. Despite my protests, I had to pay, but did not see my purchase registered. As for the meal, it was what would best be described as, under par for a hotel of this status. Overpriced, Overrated. The answer to the question I always ask, "would you go there again ?" NO

Room Tip: Stayed at the Thistle Hotel, 10 minutes by taxi, and almost half of the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our family of four stayed here at the tail end of our Scotland vacation and really enjoyed the stay. Upon arrival, the check in staff was extremely friendly and efficient. We were in our room within 10 minutes of walking in the door. Upon entering our room, we found kids packs for our daughters and towels shaped liked swans and elephants on the beds -- a nice touch. Another nice perk for Hilton Honors Diamond members is the complimentary breakfast. They had both hot and cold buffet bars, which was the perfect start to a day of sightseeing. When we ventured out our first day and asked if umbrellas were available, they kindly provided one of the hotel's own for our use. The hotel is located just across the street from the botanical gardens, which is one of the stops for the hop on hop off bus tour -- a great way to familiarize yourself with the city. We enjoyed being able to step outside the hotel and being able to walk to great restaurants and nice independent boutique shops. In fact, once we were oriented we could easily walk to Kelvingrove park and museum. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Chose this hotel as it's right next door to Oran Mor. We were in Glasgow for the weekend to see a concert there. Unfortunately there was a wedding reception in the hotel during our stay. Our room was on the first floor (room 114) and quite frankly the noise from the disco during the evening reception was deafening. When we complained to the member of staff on reception, he seemed unsympathetic and disinterested. We were advised that a) there were no other alternative rooms available and b) that he would ask the DJ to turn the music down, but if it wasn't the hotel DJ they might not take any notice. The noise level did NOT improve and we were kept awake until 12.45am when the event finished. Appreciate that weddings/events are a very valuable source of income for hotels, but surely this should not be at the expense or enjoyment of the other guests staying in the hotel. If noise levels can't be controlled sufficiently during these events, then the rooms immediately above the venue should NOT be filled with other guests. Alternatively they should invest in some proper sound insulation. When checking out the next morning, I complained about the noise and again was given what seemed a fairly stock answer that when other DJs are running the disco, it's difficult to control noise levels. When you're paying over £140 per night (room only), this is just not good enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow’s vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland’s biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Stay connected and productive with high-speed internet access and Business Centre. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo’vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.