We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, noisy road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #46 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, noisy road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there recently and had a room overlooking the road, the room was excellent, clean, tidy and well appointed. The rooms are not double glazed and there is quite a bit of road noise although rooms at the other side of the hotel are quieter.

To be fair to the hotel we did not complain as we were only there for a few nights and couldn't be bothered to repack all our stuff and we always have earplugs just in case. Other guests did complain and were assigned a quieter room.

The breakfast choice is excellent and all the staff were helpful and attentive. I'd certainly stay there again but would make sure I had a room which didn't overlook the road.

Room Tip: Book a room that doesn't overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear David123Kent

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially our breakfast and the attitudes of our staff.

Please be assured that all feedback is passed to our General Manager and Heads of Department as this is something we take very seriously here.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    256
    116
    61
    48
See reviews for
113
261
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night for a nearby wedding the hotel is really central and lots of local amenities. Breakfast was good but on the first morning we had 1 sausage, 1 bacon. And the second morning we had 2 of everything. Room service is 24hr on most things and the margarita pizza at 3am was perfect and very fresh and tasty. My only big problem was the noise from outside our room was opposite the waitrose car park and delivery entrance so I was woken all hour with the lorry noise beeping in reverse and the moving of food cages and wheely bins even with both windows closed. My worse 2 nights sleep ever! I would stay again but not at the rear of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Zobow77

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location and room service. It was disappointing though, to hear that you were disturbed by the noise. Had we been made aware of this, we would have immediately offered to move you to another room.

I have passed your comments to our General Manager and the Heads of Department, as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Good location right in the west end. Room was well furnished and the shower was great, but room a little dusty & temperature difficult to control. Staff provided first class customer service & breakfast was very good. Not impressed with wi-fi charge. Overall pretty good & would happily return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Tigger-2109

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed yourself, and hearing about it strengthens our commitment to providing the best service.
I was disappointed to hear that you experienced some trouble with the heating in your room, however we appreciate you sharing your experiences with us.

We hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is an excellent location for the University and underground. The room is attractive, but the plumbing and heating have quirks. Staff is very friendly and caring. Breakfast is very good. If I had booked sooner than later to get a better price, then I would have made this overall review higher to Very Good.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor or higher if you want a quiet room on a Thursday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Amy H

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit.

It was great to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us, especially the location, our breakfasts and the attitude of our staff.

Please be assured that I have passed your compliments to the General Manager and Heads of Department, as hearing this strengthens our commitment to providing the best service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed recently the night before my wedding across the road. Room was absolutely fine and staff very friendly. Breakfast the next morning (of our wedding) very nearly didn't happen when we were told we hadn't paid for it. I assured the staff that I in fact most definitely HAD paid for it but they found no record and, regardless of the fact that I was off to get married in a couple of hours time, wouldn't let me sit down and have a bit of toast. Managed to get someone with internet access and after sifting through my old emails got confirmation that I had indeed paid for breakfast and got an apology, though after standing about like a chump for ten minutes in the dining area looking like someone who was being questioned about shoplifting.
Next day of the 8 couples who were also staying for our wedding THREE of them also were told they couldn't get breakfast. A better system for figuring this out wouldn't go amiss (and no, we didn't book through a third party so that's no excuse either!) or indeed breakfast staff not being such jobsworths would be grand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights due to work. My room was situated in the corner of the building and therefore had a lot of light. The bed was very confortable and breakfast was great. The neighbourhood around it is great for a night out and fine dining! Don't miss Ashton Lane!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear lauren_now

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was great to hear that you had enjoyed your stay, especially the beds and breakfast.

I have passed your compliments on to our General Manager and Heads of Department, as this assists us in constantly improving our service and property.

We hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently attended a birthday celebration at the hotel. The food, service, and staff were excellent, room decor fresh and modern with iron, hairdryer and safe etc., great experience, would recommend to business and holiday visitors as it's in an excellent position to visit city attractions, the Clyde Coast or north to Loch Lommond and the Trossachs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Jenniffer S

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for sharing your experience. I assure you that all feedback is passed to our General Manager as well as the Heads of Department as this is taken very seriously here at Hilton.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#32 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow’s vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland’s biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Stay connected and productive with high-speed internet access and Business Centre. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo’vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.