We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was excellent - building site opposite was not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hotel was excellent - building site opposite was not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel which, considering its location south of the Clyde in the Gorbals, is something of a recommendation in itself.
As before, the hotel was very good - reception was friendly and helpful, rooms clean and well equipped, breakfast excellent and overall very good value for money. The only downside is something which is completely beyond the control of the hotel but may be something to take into account if you are a light sleeper.
Over the road, Glasgow City College is having a little work done (an understatement) and unbelieveably the construction site operates 24 hours a day. I am a very heavy sleeper but the noise at 3:50am was enough to awaken the dead let alone a solitary business traveller like me. I was in room 137 which faces the construction site so the problem may not have been quite so bad in rooms facing the other way, but the noise was just incrtedible (I stayed in a hotel next to the runway at Stansted airport the other week and there was no comparison to this).
If you stay here, and you should, try to make sure you have ear plugs or ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: while the construction work is still in progress, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear The_Turreteers,

Thanks for your feedback regarding Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and our hotel met your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have been in dialogue with the College opposite and the construction works are now completed.

Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    201
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
151
228
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Point, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Glasgow City Centre South was our first stay in a Premier Inn. What an enjoyable experience. Customer service was outstanding from the friendly and informative reception staff to the dining and bar staff.
This hotel is situated just a short stroll, approx, 10-15 minutes into the city centre with ample parking for travellers.
Our room wasl quiet, modern, clean and very comfortable. Excellent value. We were pleasantly surprised with the restaurant dining, good quality food at a reasonable price for those nights when you wish to dine in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Linda D

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this.I am especially delighted with how much you enjoyed our food, and i will be passing your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One night stay to see Ghost the Musical in Glasgow. Excellent friendly staff, and good clean rooms. Great free car park and close to the subway and Glasgow Green. Highly recommended, and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear John H,

Thanks for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one.

We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. I hope that your show was enjoyable as well!
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

modern room as you would expect, this has had a make over as the tv has the inputs in the wall under the tv hence you can run your dvd from the laptop to the tv or internet on the tv. most inns are going this way in the upgrade.
i arrived late but was treated well and asked if anything more could be done.
food is the usual type you would find in the city center.
all in all good
parking is ok and if front parks are full there is one round the back all ok

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ranjit21,

Thanks for your feedback regarding Premier Inn glasgow City Centre South. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and our hotel met your expectations. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed six nights and a quieter hotel than I expected with the busy road outside. All showers at this hotel, though I would have liked a room with a bath rather than just a shower. Friendly staff though.





  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Frank R,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and a quiet night!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regarsd,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked this hotel months ago when entering the Great Scottish Run for staying in the city for the night before. It cost £29 which, for a Saturday night, was exceptional, so I was expecting a lower grade hotel. I couldn't have been more wrong, the hotel was clean, modern, the rooms very large and comfortable with a huge TV on the wall and very comfy beds. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was superb for the morning before the race.

However what really makes this hotel is the staff. From start to finish they were excellent, sorting me out with a twin room even though I'd booked a double (my fiance had to pull out last minute to be replaced with my Dad). Helpful, friendly and funny throughout my stay they made staying here an great experience.

The breakfast cost £5.25 for the continental breakfast and I had porridge, a croissant, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. It was all good quality and for the money, good value.

I know I got a good deal with the £29 room rate but honestly I would happily pay double for a hotel of this quality. Not gonna look a gift horse in the mouth though! Thanks Premier Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Devon Vs Perth,

Thanks for your feedback regarding Premier Inn glasgow City Centre south. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay.
All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable one and our hotel met your expectations. I hope you did well in the run and that you weren't too out of breath after!

Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price - we paid £55/night. The staff are friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, with a good powerful walk-in shower, and they have free parking. A short walk from the city centre. Buffet breakfast was good, and excellent value for money. I've stayed there before, and will stay again as I visit Glasgow fairly often.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn City Centre South. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. I am delighted to note you stay with us regularly, and i will be passing your comments on to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South

Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.